Last visit was: It is currently Mon Nov 18, 2019 10:00 am


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: a few mechanics questions that came up last night...
PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2013 12:47 pm 

Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 4:12 pm
Posts: 1037
  • With the 2 tick ready weapon action, can you ready more than one weapon? The wording is vague - it explicitly says you can only ready a single weapon when doing so as part of a cautious advance but is not explicit on taking the separate 2 tick action. Does Quick Draw change the answer at all?
  • For creating Advanced Combat Maneuvers, you use the speed of the slower maneuver and add the speed of the faster maneuver as extra recovery. Does the recovery of the faster maneuver get added as well? I couldn't find anywhere that specified this (rulebook or errata).
  • Can you combine multiple trivial actions with another action? For example, could I incidental move 5', command a companion (with the talent making it trivial), quick draw 2 weapons, and Sweeping Strike for a total of speed+6 (or thereabouts)?

_________________
Steve Wilcoxon
Ss'kethis - Expert Holy Champion of the Fire Dragon 3.1
G'hyu'thyh Sungha - Martial Templar of Illiir 1.7
Eryk Bauer - Martial Awakened 1.2


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: a few mechanics questions that came up last night...
PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2013 12:54 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:47 am
Posts: 2470
Location: Central Alberta
wilcoxon wrote:
  • With the 2 tick ready weapon action, can you ready more than one weapon? The wording is vague - it explicitly says you can only ready a single weapon when doing so as part of a cautious advance but is not explicit on taking the separate 2 tick action. Does Quick Draw change the answer at all?


My Read is that you can only draw a single weapon/shield as part of a 2 tick ready action. If you have Quickdraw (ta), you can change that to a Trivial (1 Tick) action, meaning it can be combined with another action, so you can get TWO weapons out as a 2 tick action with Quickdraw (ta). To clarify, both 'draws' become 1 tick, and since a Trivial Action can be combined with another action, 1 Tick + Trivial = 2 Ticks.

Quote:
  • For creating Advanced Combat Maneuvers, you use the speed of the slower maneuver and add the speed of the faster maneuver as extra recovery. Does the recovery of the faster maneuver get added as well? I couldn't find anywhere that specified this (rulebook or errata).


  • If you were combining a Technique which had +3(3) with one with +2(2) the final speed/recovery would be +3(5). The faster movements recovery disappears into the ether.

    Quote:
  • Can you combine multiple trivial actions with another action? For example, could I incidental move 5', command a companion (with the talent making it trivial), quick draw 2 weapons, and Sweeping Strike for a total of speed+6 (or thereabouts)?


  • No. Incidental can be combined with any action, but you can only add a single Trivial Action to another action. As such, you can incidental 5', quick draw a single weapon, and make an attack.

    _________________
    Cody Bergman
    Legends of Arcanis Campaign Staff
    Initial Author Contact/Adventure Vetting

    Haakon Marcus val'Virdan, Divine Holy Judge of Nier
    Ruma val'Vasik, Martial Crusader and Master of the Spear
    Jorma Osterman, Arcane Coryani Battlemage


    Top
    Offline Profile  
     
     Post subject: Re: a few mechanics questions that came up last night...
    PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2013 1:15 pm 

    Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 4:12 pm
    Posts: 1037
    Nierite wrote:
    wilcoxon wrote:
    [*]Can you combine multiple trivial actions with another action? For example, could I incidental move 5', command a companion (with the talent making it trivial), quick draw 2 weapons, and Sweeping Strike for a total of speed+6 (or thereabouts)?[/list]


    No. Incidental can be combined with any action, but you can only add a single Trivial Action to another action. As such, you can incidental 5', quick draw a single weapon, and make an attack.


    Can you combine a trivial action with another trivial action as the full action (so say quick draw 2 weapons as a 2 tick action)? Then next action, incidental move, command companion, and attack.

    _________________
    Steve Wilcoxon
    Ss'kethis - Expert Holy Champion of the Fire Dragon 3.1
    G'hyu'thyh Sungha - Martial Templar of Illiir 1.7
    Eryk Bauer - Martial Awakened 1.2


    Top
    Offline Profile  
     
     Post subject: Re: a few mechanics questions that came up last night...
    PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2013 1:38 pm 
    User avatar

    Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:47 am
    Posts: 2470
    Location: Central Alberta
    A trivial action is an action, as specified above. As such, you can combine. As such, you may Quickdraw, Quickdraw another weapon for 2 ticks.

    _________________
    Cody Bergman
    Legends of Arcanis Campaign Staff
    Initial Author Contact/Adventure Vetting

    Haakon Marcus val'Virdan, Divine Holy Judge of Nier
    Ruma val'Vasik, Martial Crusader and Master of the Spear
    Jorma Osterman, Arcane Coryani Battlemage


    Top
    Offline Profile  
     
     Post subject: Re: a few mechanics questions that came up last night...
    PostPosted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 10:27 am 
    User avatar

    Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:40 am
    Posts: 2046
    There couple of questions that came up over the convention this weekend that I wanted to ask.

    1) When using two weapon fighting using the talent, is it possible to separate your incidental movement allowance before, after and during the two attacks. For example, can I attack with my primary weapon, advance my clock 1 tick, then incidental 5' and attack with IFC hand, then 5' again? The rules for incidental seem general enough to allow thus.

    [EDIT] After referring to the Errata, it is mentioned Two-Weapon Fighting is considered 2 Actions. Given that ruling, is then possible to take Incidental Movement with both attacks since they are separate actions? Example: Incidental 10', take your first attack, incidental 10', take your second attack? It would seem that is the case if they are indeed 2 actions.

    2) Is there an implicit rule that spells which affect a sect do not work in mindless creatures, such as murders and undead? Is it also limited to humanoids? For instance, Forced Reverance lists a Special (Restriction) to that effect. Channeling does not. If a spell mentioning religious sect is always implicitly limited to humanoids following a sect, it should be added to the magic section general rules. Some sect spells (Dictum) mention intelligence required but not humanoids.

    _________________
    - John Bellando

    Kelb'Bakari Masalio, Dark-kin Altherian Corsair, Gentleman Archaeologist, and Wandering Bard
    "The highest compliment an Altherian can pay you is to shoot you with his flintlock. It means you were worth the expense."


    Top
    Offline Profile  
     
     Post subject: Re: a few mechanics questions that came up last night...
    PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 5:30 pm 

    Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:36 am
    Posts: 1554
    I believe the definition of sects and religion found under smite heretic, is the definitive set of rules regarding sects.

    At tables I run, channeling does not affect: animals, or anything with the bestial intellect flaw, swarms(in theory it could but i haven't seen one yet), if it does not have the faculty to worship, then its not affected.

    its a good spell but its not supposed to be the best damage spell

    _________________
    --Josh Elliott
    Oswald val'Inares V, The Seeker of the Val'Inares
    Harvester Lord of the Eastern Fields of Iowa


    Top
    Offline Profile  
     
     Post subject: Re: a few mechanics questions that came up last night...
    PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 6:13 pm 
    User avatar

    Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:40 am
    Posts: 2046
    I'm cool with that. I just would like a single, comprehensive definition for it. The main differences seem to be humanoids or not.

    John

    _________________
    - John Bellando

    Kelb'Bakari Masalio, Dark-kin Altherian Corsair, Gentleman Archaeologist, and Wandering Bard
    "The highest compliment an Altherian can pay you is to shoot you with his flintlock. It means you were worth the expense."


    Top
    Offline Profile  
     
     Post subject: Re: a few mechanics questions that came up last night...
    PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 8:02 pm 

    Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:36 am
    Posts: 1554
    well if you can think of a humanoid that does not have the ability to worship, i would be interested.

    however, there are probably some non humanoids that also have the ability to worship, such as ilhuan (they are classified as vermin), i would argue that anything with greater than bestial intellect( with the exception of murders) can worship something

    _________________
    --Josh Elliott
    Oswald val'Inares V, The Seeker of the Val'Inares
    Harvester Lord of the Eastern Fields of Iowa


    Top
    Offline Profile  
     
     Post subject: Re: a few mechanics questions that came up last night...
    PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 8:10 pm 
    User avatar

    Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:40 am
    Posts: 2046
    SamhainIA wrote:
    well if you can think of a humanoid that does not have the ability to worship, i would be interested.

    however, there are probably some non humanoids that also have the ability to worship, such as ilhuan (they are classified as vermin), i would argue that anything with greater than bestial intellect( with the exception of murders) can worship something


    That is all I'm asking. Sometimes when Sect is referenced, the limitation is "Intelligent humanoid" (Forced Reverence) and sometimes it's just "Intelligent" (Censure Heretics, Smite Heretic).

    I'm guessing it's just supposed to be "Intelligent" since the infernal cults are listed.

    ===

    Different note, what are your thoughts on my question around TWF? If TWF is considered 2 actions, does it make sense to take separate Incidental Movement for both attacks, up to 20' (10' for both attacks)?

    John

    _________________
    - John Bellando

    Kelb'Bakari Masalio, Dark-kin Altherian Corsair, Gentleman Archaeologist, and Wandering Bard
    "The highest compliment an Altherian can pay you is to shoot you with his flintlock. It means you were worth the expense."


    Top
    Offline Profile  
     
     Post subject: Re: a few mechanics questions that came up last night...
    PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 8:21 pm 

    Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 4:12 pm
    Posts: 1037
    Harliquinn wrote:
    Different note, what are your thoughts on my question around TWF? If TWF is considered 2 actions, does it make sense to take separate Incidental Movement for both attacks, up to 20' (10' for both attacks)?


    If I was GMing, I'd rule you could only incidental once (5' or 10') somewhere in the TWF action.

    _________________
    Steve Wilcoxon
    Ss'kethis - Expert Holy Champion of the Fire Dragon 3.1
    G'hyu'thyh Sungha - Martial Templar of Illiir 1.7
    Eryk Bauer - Martial Awakened 1.2


    Top
    Offline Profile  
     
    Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
    Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Moderators: james.zwiers, PCI Eric, PCI_StatMonkey Go to page 1, 2  Next

    All times are UTC - 5 hours


    Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


    You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum

    Search for:
    Jump to:  
    cron
    Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
    Theme created StylerBB.net & kodeki