Last visit was: It is currently Mon Nov 18, 2019 4:31 am


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: order of applying die bumps?
PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 12:37 am 

Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 4:12 pm
Posts: 1037
What final strength would a Gnome with d12 Strength, Enlarged Hands, and a Rune of Might have when making an unarmed attack?
  1. d12 -> d12+2 (enlarged) -> 2d6 (rune interpretation #1)
  2. d12 -> d12+2 (enlarged) -> 2d6+2 (rune interpretation #2)
  3. d12 -> 2d6 (rune) -> 2d8 (enlarged)
  4. d12 -> 2d6 (rune) -> 2d6 (enlarged)
  5. something else

I would hope not #1 or #4 as that would make Enlarged Hands far less useful.

On #3 vs #4, it's unclear on if the limitation of "max d12+2" applies to 2d6 or not. 2d6 die is not covered in the main rulebook that I can find.

_________________
Steve Wilcoxon
Ss'kethis - Expert Holy Champion of the Fire Dragon 3.1
G'hyu'thyh Sungha - Martial Templar of Illiir 1.7
Eryk Bauer - Martial Awakened 1.2


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: order of applying die bumps?
PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 7:50 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 7:06 am
Posts: 922
:edit: Looks like 'none of the above' unless you have access to Powerful Attribute as you cannot bump above 1d12+2 without it.

The Rune bump seems to be included for completeness when used by Threats.

pg170 wrote:
Die Bump: Some spells or Talents may provide you with a Die Bump. Die Bumps can be conceivably applied to any die roll in the game, and unless otherwise noted are capped
at d12. Thus, if you use a Talent that grants a Die Bump to Insight when using a particular skill you simply use the next highest die. If the die is already a d12, you instead gain a +2 bonus to the affected die roll.

Quote:
Enlarged Hands: Your hands are abnormally large and powerful, making any fine manipulation difficult to say the least. Any time you attack with your bare hands, you gain a Die Bump to your Might (maximum of d12+2), but you suffer a Die Penalty to any Quickness Action
Skill Rolls that depend on using your hands.


Quote:
Might Rune:
... Unlike a standard Die Bump, if you possess d12 Might, your Might increases to 2d6 instead. ...
Special: If this Rune is used in combination with any spell or Talent which grants a Might Die Bump, the effects do stack to a maximum potential of 2d8.

_________________
LARG; Astra Tonsoria Ursula val¤Dellanov, Martial Former Tribune, Centurion Sword Sage II, T3.1
LA:5E; Barbara Duran-Dellanov, Former Tribune, Fighter 4
LRC:OP; Seraphina "Flowerchild" Amakiir, Skill Hero


Last edited by Southernskies on Wed Apr 06, 2016 12:13 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: order of applying die bumps?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2016 9:15 pm 

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 11:41 pm
Posts: 361
Location: Australia
so if you have an attribute of 1d12+2 (lets say might) and you have furious rage (die bump to might) it has no affect because you are already at maximum?

_________________
Taffy / Dean

Melbourne - Australia

Marco val'Sheem - Master Sword Sage
Gwe - Berokene Sailor & KNight of the 12 Oaks
Henrique Gatti- Dark-kin Archeologist

Tos'Koreth - Disciple of Jeggal Sag
Vuran - Tultipet Body Guard

The Axeman (LRC)


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: order of applying die bumps?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:18 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 7:06 am
Posts: 922
That seems to be the case.

The only other exception I could find was weapon size categories.
pg.238 wrote:
Size Categories
The weapons presented in this chapter are of average size. But there are times where the heroes might face larger creatures wielding massive weapons. Weapons gain a Die Bump to their base weapon damage for each category above Average, without increasing the weapon's Speed. Unlike a heroes die bump which caps at d12+2, weapons which deal 1d12 deal 2d6 instead which each die increasing by one additional size category per die bump. Thus a Huge Scythe, Speed 7, d12 weapon would deal 2d10 (Mi) as a Speed 7 attack.


pg.91 wrote:
Die Bumps and Die Penalties
Both Die Bumps and Die Penalties may end up being applied to any die roll. A Die Bump increases any die it is applied to by one step and is capped at d12 unless otherwise noted. If the Die Bump is applied to a die that is already a d12, you gain a +2 bonus to the die roll instead. A Die Penalty reduces the die type by one step to a minimum of d4. If a Die Penalty is applied to a die which is already a d4, you suffer a -2 penalty to the die roll instead.

_________________
LARG; Astra Tonsoria Ursula val¤Dellanov, Martial Former Tribune, Centurion Sword Sage II, T3.1
LA:5E; Barbara Duran-Dellanov, Former Tribune, Fighter 4
LRC:OP; Seraphina "Flowerchild" Amakiir, Skill Hero


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: order of applying die bumps?
PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2016 12:12 am 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 7:06 am
Posts: 922
I've been re-reading a few things and have changed my position (should have quoted all of the Might Rune in the previous post; editing above post).

Base Might: d12
Might Rune + Enlarged Hands = 2 die bumps (using the specific rules of the Might Rune)
== 2d8 MIGHT die

The order does not appear to matter, as the rules for the Rune are specific.

HOWEVER: You must have a Base Might of d12 (before adjustment) to gain the benefits (a Might stat of 11).

Specific to our Gnome friend:
Normal damage = d12+2 Might (Base d12 + Enlarged Hands; core rules)
Active Rune damage = 2d8 Might (Base d12 + Might Rune + Enlarged Hands; specific rule)

Specific to Furious Rage:
Normal damage = d12+2 Might (Base d12 + Furious Rage; core rules)
Active Rune damage = 2d8 Might (Base d12 + Might Rune + Furious Rage; specific rule)

_________________
LARG; Astra Tonsoria Ursula val¤Dellanov, Martial Former Tribune, Centurion Sword Sage II, T3.1
LA:5E; Barbara Duran-Dellanov, Former Tribune, Fighter 4
LRC:OP; Seraphina "Flowerchild" Amakiir, Skill Hero


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: order of applying die bumps?
PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2016 5:36 pm 

Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 4:12 pm
Posts: 1037
That makes sense to me. However, my next question is what happens if you only have a d10 base Mi die (since you said you must have d12 to begin with)? Does it end up as d12+2 or as 2d6?

_________________
Steve Wilcoxon
Ss'kethis - Expert Holy Champion of the Fire Dragon 3.1
G'hyu'thyh Sungha - Martial Templar of Illiir 1.7
Eryk Bauer - Martial Awakened 1.2


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: order of applying die bumps?
PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2016 12:58 am 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 7:06 am
Posts: 922
D12+2

_________________
LARG; Astra Tonsoria Ursula val¤Dellanov, Martial Former Tribune, Centurion Sword Sage II, T3.1
LA:5E; Barbara Duran-Dellanov, Former Tribune, Fighter 4
LRC:OP; Seraphina "Flowerchild" Amakiir, Skill Hero


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ]  Moderators: james.zwiers, PCI Eric, PCI_StatMonkey

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net & kodeki