Last visit was: It is currently Wed Oct 23, 2019 7:52 pm


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Push - Technical question
PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2015 11:47 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 9:55 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Chicago Suburbs
This is exactly why I posted this thread. There are many opinions out there, and no real consensus. You could go to 3 different tables and have three different rulings, and by the wording in the book, all could be correct. That is why I am looking for an official ruling here. If Matt has the PCI standing to say, "This Is SO!", I am totally cool with that. But as far as I know, for a rules interpretation question, I need Pedro or Henry to stamp it.

_________________
Yours in Gaming
David Bauder
Good buddy of Cauter Val Virdan


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Push - Technical question
PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2015 12:35 am 

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 12:08 am
Posts: 1365
Hello Dave,

Davebauder wrote:
If Matt has the PCI standing to say, "This Is SO!", I am totally cool with that. But as far as I know, for a rules interpretation question, I need Pedro or Henry to stamp it.


Matt does have the say so and is the current rules "guru" at this time.

So, inasfar as Rules go, Matt speaks with PCI backing and approval.

Thank you.

_________________
Best,

Henry Lopez
President
PCI


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Push - Technical question
PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2015 2:31 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 9:55 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Chicago Suburbs
That's FANTASTIC. Thanks Henry, and you rock Matt.

OK, using Southernskies' example, can you walk me through what happens tick by tick?

1. Cast a spell (Spd:1, Strain 5)
2. Mighty Swing (spd: 5, Recovery 2); Strain at 5
3. Strain at 4
4. Hit by PUSH 2; Strain at ?
5.
6.
7.
8.
9.
10.
11.
12.

Thanks for taking time to clear up this issue for the campaign and for dispelling confusion. That's why I love you guys.

_________________
Yours in Gaming
David Bauder
Good buddy of Cauter Val Virdan


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Push - Technical question
PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2015 11:24 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 9:55 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Chicago Suburbs
mighty28 wrote:
Cody is correct. Push pushes everything. (you are considered under Push until your next Tick on the clock). If you had it otherwise, if you suffered "Push 2" and adjust your clock, then those 2 Ticks expire, you could again suffer Push (effectively keeping you locked out of a combat).


Got it. And we spent some time talking about it, so let's see if I can repeat it back with different words but still correctly.

When you get pushed, EVERYTHING on your clock gets delayed by the amount of the push. This includes the time until your next action, the time when any strain or recovery from the last action starts resolving, AND the number of ticks it takes for any strain or recovery to resolve, even if it is from actions that have cleared on your clock. You are considered to be under a push (for the purposes of getting pushed again or when you can once again voluntarily push yourself) until the next tick you can act.

Have I got that right?

_________________
Yours in Gaming
David Bauder
Good buddy of Cauter Val Virdan


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Push - Technical question
PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2015 10:38 am 

Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 4:12 pm
Posts: 1037
I don't see why suffering Push should effectively increase your amount of Strain or Recovery that is already counting down. On the other hand, it's unlikely to make a difference unless the amount of Push is greater than any non-zero Strain/Recovery you would have had on your next action.

So, to go with an example:
1) character's previous action gave him 3 Strain and 5 Recovery on tick 1 - does a basic action (next up on tick 5) so Strain and Recovery are counting down
3) character gets Pushed 3
8) next action after Push

When is the 3 Strain gone? On tick 4 or tick 7?
When is the 5 Recovery gone? On tick 6 or tick 9?

My view is that they should be gone on the earlier ticks as there is nothing in the rules that says anything about increasing Strain or Recovery on a Push.

_________________
Steve Wilcoxon
Ss'kethis - Expert Holy Champion of the Fire Dragon 3.1
G'hyu'thyh Sungha - Martial Templar of Illiir 1.7
Eryk Bauer - Martial Awakened 1.2


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Push - Technical question
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 10:22 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 9:55 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Chicago Suburbs
wilcoxon wrote:
So, to go with an example:
1) character's previous action gave him 3 Strain and 5 Recovery on tick 1 - does a basic action (next up on tick 5) so Strain and Recovery are counting down
3) character gets Pushed 3
8) next action after Push

When is the 3 Strain gone? On tick 4 or tick 7?
When is the 5 Recovery gone? On tick 6 or tick 9?


According to what Matt said, the correct answer would be 7 and 9. Matt, care to confirm?

(PS, I personally don't care one way or the other. I was just tired of all the inconsistency. With a fighter/caster the version you prefer would be better for my primary, but since our opposition has to deal with the same, I have no problem with it.

_________________
Yours in Gaming
David Bauder
Good buddy of Cauter Val Virdan


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Push - Technical question
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 10:42 pm 

Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2013 5:44 pm
Posts: 147
Location: Cajun Country
I have always understood it as push basically pausing any countdown to your next turn, but you are considered under push until that next action as well. It takes looking at speed and the clock backward from how many people do. I don't use a d12 or clock I use a dry erase board for my games, it is easier for me to keep up with and doesn't fall over when someone hits the table. So when someone takes an action I start the count down until they can act again, with strain/recovery doing the same. Each tick everything goes down by 1, but when pushed your count down doesn't move.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Push - Technical question
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 11:13 pm 

Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 4:12 pm
Posts: 1037
archangel wrote:
I have always understood it as push basically pausing any countdown to your next turn, but you are considered under push until that next action as well. It takes looking at speed and the clock backward from how many people do. I don't use a d12 or clock I use a dry erase board for my games, it is easier for me to keep up with and doesn't fall over when someone hits the table. So when someone takes an action I start the count down until they can act again, with strain/recovery doing the same. Each tick everything goes down by 1, but when pushed your count down doesn't move.


So, if I'm understanding what you are saying, using the previous example, Strain would not be done until tick 9 and Recovery until tick 11? If so, I completely disagree with this interpretation.

I don't like what Dave thinks Matt's ruling is either but it should only rarely have an impact on play (so I can live with it).

_________________
Steve Wilcoxon
Ss'kethis - Expert Holy Champion of the Fire Dragon 3.1
G'hyu'thyh Sungha - Martial Templar of Illiir 1.7
Eryk Bauer - Martial Awakened 1.2


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Push - Technical question
PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 12:19 am 

Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2013 5:44 pm
Posts: 147
Location: Cajun Country
Let me lay it out this way. Tta is time to act, ie how long until they can act.
Tick TtA Str Rec Push
1 5 3 5 none
2 4 2 4 none
3 3 1 3 3
4 3 1 3 2
5 3 1 3 1
6 3 1 3 0
7 2 0 2 still pushed
8 1 0 1 still pushed
9 0 0 0 You can act and are not considered pushed


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Push - Technical question
PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 1:15 am 

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 11:17 am
Posts: 193
Thanks archangel, your chart really clears it up for me.

The only rule I wasn't aware of was that I am still considered in Push until I take my next action.

As for the rule itself.
On the one side, I'm looking at my Arcane Caster with Arcane Shield and Counterspell and considering changing his build because I can't Push myself like I thought.
On the other side, mighty28's comment has me thinking about a character build that can lock someone out of combat forever especially a caster, or a big boss.

I'm always a fan of knowing the proper rules.

_________________
The Vault


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Moderators: james.zwiers, PCI Eric, PCI_StatMonkey Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net & kodeki