Last visit was: It is currently Mon Nov 18, 2019 10:00 am


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Prestidigitation after Arcane Spell Casting?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 11:12 am 

Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 4:12 pm
Posts: 1037
toddpmorgan wrote:
So if you're an Expert, as long as you take ASC and Prestidigitation at the same time, you're going to get all of the spells that an Arcane or Divine caster would get?


Yes. However, I believe the only way to do this is to take both at step 9 of char creation.

_________________
Steve Wilcoxon
Ss'kethis - Expert Holy Champion of the Fire Dragon 3.1
G'hyu'thyh Sungha - Martial Templar of Illiir 1.7
Eryk Bauer - Martial Awakened 1.2


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Prestidigitation after Arcane Spell Casting?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 11:13 am 

Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 4:12 pm
Posts: 1037
SamhainIA wrote:
@todd thats correct, and there is a little bit of leeway in character creation, that if you take both of those talents during character creation you get the advanced spells, (they dont have to be taken at the same step)


Really? I thought the ruling was that they did have to be taken at the same step so an Expert could not take Prestidigitation as one of his two archetype talents and get the advanced spells.

_________________
Steve Wilcoxon
Ss'kethis - Expert Holy Champion of the Fire Dragon 3.1
G'hyu'thyh Sungha - Martial Templar of Illiir 1.7
Eryk Bauer - Martial Awakened 1.2


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Prestidigitation after Arcane Spell Casting?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 11:14 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:47 am
Posts: 2470
Location: Central Alberta
They have to be taken at the same TIME (ie: Character creation), but not the same STEP.

_________________
Cody Bergman
Legends of Arcanis Campaign Staff
Initial Author Contact/Adventure Vetting

Haakon Marcus val'Virdan, Divine Holy Judge of Nier
Ruma val'Vasik, Martial Crusader and Master of the Spear
Jorma Osterman, Arcane Coryani Battlemage


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Prestidigitation after Arcane Spell Casting?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 11:53 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 11:10 pm
Posts: 51
Location: Omaha, NE
Along these same lines:

1.1 Expert
1.2 Sp Awakened Scion Path
1.3 Universal Advancement options to take two talents, Prest and ASC

Would that work?

_________________
Todd Morgan

Primary: Ss'agoth - Templar of The Fire Dragon 1.1
Secondary: Mathius val'Inares - Sanctorum Mage 1.1


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Prestidigitation after Arcane Spell Casting?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 12:07 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:47 am
Posts: 2470
Location: Central Alberta
Prestidigitation is a prerequisite for ASC, so you cannot take two talents (one of which is the prerequisite for the other) at the same time except at Character creation. As such, you couldn't "Learn 2 talents" learning both because you do not qualify for both at the time you level up.

_________________
Cody Bergman
Legends of Arcanis Campaign Staff
Initial Author Contact/Adventure Vetting

Haakon Marcus val'Virdan, Divine Holy Judge of Nier
Ruma val'Vasik, Martial Crusader and Master of the Spear
Jorma Osterman, Arcane Coryani Battlemage


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Prestidigitation after Arcane Spell Casting?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 12:09 pm 

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:36 am
Posts: 1554
Nope, you cant take Prestidigitation (Pdig) and Arcane spell cazsting in the same advancement because you need to read the rest of that advancement's text:

Quote:
Choose any two talents; you must meet the requirements for both talents before you utilize this advancement option.


you don't qualify for ASC when you take the advancement

_________________
--Josh Elliott
Oswald val'Inares V, The Seeker of the Val'Inares
Harvester Lord of the Eastern Fields of Iowa


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Prestidigitation after Arcane Spell Casting?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 12:16 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:40 am
Posts: 2046
Nierite wrote:
They have to be taken at the same TIME (ie: Character creation), but not the same STEP.


The errata clarified same step in character creation.

John

_________________
- John Bellando

Kelb'Bakari Masalio, Dark-kin Altherian Corsair, Gentleman Archaeologist, and Wandering Bard
"The highest compliment an Altherian can pay you is to shoot you with his flintlock. It means you were worth the expense."


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Prestidigitation after Arcane Spell Casting?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 12:24 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 11:10 pm
Posts: 51
Location: Omaha, NE
Okay that makes sense. What would a character lose out on taking Prestidigitation during character creation and then ASC during a later Rank?

_________________
Todd Morgan

Primary: Ss'agoth - Templar of The Fire Dragon 1.1
Secondary: Mathius val'Inares - Sanctorum Mage 1.1


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Prestidigitation after Arcane Spell Casting?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 12:32 pm 

Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 4:12 pm
Posts: 1037
Harliquinn wrote:
The errata clarified same step in character creation.


Ah. Yep. Same STEP (not just at char creation)...

Quote:
Change Prestidigitation’s Special to:
Special: If you gain both Prestidigitation and either the Arcane or Divine Casting Talents at the same step in character creation or as combined benefits of a single Path selection, then you learn all Tier 1 Universal spells, not just the Base spells. If, instead, you later acquire either the Arcane Spell Casting or the Divine Spell Casting Talents you must gain the Learn Spell Talent to learn the remaining Universal spells.


It also addresses my original question in the first sentence. the "if, instead," line muddies the waters but it still seems probable that the intent was you would not get non-Base Universal spells gaining ASC before Prestidigitation (only if they are gained at the same time).

_________________
Steve Wilcoxon
Ss'kethis - Expert Holy Champion of the Fire Dragon 3.1
G'hyu'thyh Sungha - Martial Templar of Illiir 1.7
Eryk Bauer - Martial Awakened 1.2


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Prestidigitation after Arcane Spell Casting?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 12:34 pm 

Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 4:12 pm
Posts: 1037
toddpmorgan wrote:
Okay that makes sense. What would a character lose out on taking Prestidigitation during character creation and then ASC during a later Rank?


You lose out on any Advanced Universal spells (most notably Unravel the Thread).

_________________
Steve Wilcoxon
Ss'kethis - Expert Holy Champion of the Fire Dragon 3.1
G'hyu'thyh Sungha - Martial Templar of Illiir 1.7
Eryk Bauer - Martial Awakened 1.2


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Moderators: james.zwiers, PCI Eric, PCI_StatMonkey Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net & kodeki