Last visit was: It is currently Mon Jun 24, 2019 7:20 am


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: A Leaf Upon the Wind + Jump Spell
PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2019 4:15 pm 

Joined: Wed May 22, 2019 4:04 pm
Posts: 2
So Jump Spell/Ring of Jumping/Boots of Jumping and Striding give you x3 to your base jumping distance.

Osalikene (Air) Elorii's First level Bloodline "A Leaf Upon the Wind" provides "Your jumping distance is doubled"

Am I to read this as I now have x6 Jumping distance or it overrides the 1st level bloodline power and I only have x3 Jumping Distance?


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Leaf Upon the Wind + Jump Spell
PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2019 7:21 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 7:06 am
Posts: 890
standard stacking rules apply; it becomes x4.

Base + (x3) + (x2)

_________________
LARG; Astra Tonsoria Ursula val¤Dellanov, Martial Former Tribune, Centurion Sword Sage II, T3.1
LA:5E; Barbara Duran-Dellanov, Former Tribune, Fighter 4
LRC:OP; Seraphina "Flowerchild" Amakiir, Skill Hero


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Leaf Upon the Wind + Jump Spell
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2019 6:52 pm 

Joined: Wed May 22, 2019 4:04 pm
Posts: 2
I would have immediately agreed if 3rd Ed, but I haven't seen that stacking multiplier thing anywhere in 5e.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Leaf Upon the Wind + Jump Spell
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2019 10:18 pm 

Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 9:19 am
Posts: 140
I admit, I was guilty of assuming standard stacking rules applied. I hadn’t realized that hadn’t appeared in this edition. I checked the DMG errata, and under “Combining Game Effects”, it clarifies that everything stacks as long as it’s not the same name, so unless PCI offers a different ruling:

Jump spell and Ring of Jumping do not stack (as the latter grants the ability to cast the same spell)
Boots of Striding and Springing are questionable here, given the “though you can't jump farther than your remaining Movement would allow“ limitation
My own two cents would be that the spell (alone or via ring) would stack with the Elorii ability for x6. Again, no one official, but at least WotC’s RAW seem to indicate that.

_________________
Paul Baughman (no hat)
Belthazor Nádasdy val'Mehen of Nishanpur, Bearer of "False Yet True", Noble Born Sorcerer-Priest of Sarish, val'Mehan Emissary


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ]  Moderators: james.zwiers, PCI Eric, PCI_StatMonkey

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net & kodeki