Last visit was: It is currently Thu Jun 21, 2018 2:47 pm


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Question about dual wielding/laminae duo combat school
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2018 11:44 am 

Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 11:30 am
Posts: 2
So I understand that dual wielding in arcanis is different, but I just wanted a clarification on the ruling. Since this combat school specifically states "Weapons: The Red Sword Fencing School’s Two Blades style uses two edged weapons of equal length, usually combining twin longswords or small swords." Does this mean that one who takes this feat for this combat school can also dual wield any two one-handed weapons even if they don't have the light property?

If so, would this happen to stack with a fury's warped one ability which reverts greatswords to 1handed, non-light weapons and allow them to dual-wield greatswords while in their warped state?


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about dual wielding/laminae duo combat school
PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2018 8:06 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 7:06 am
Posts: 853
The last question, definite no. 2H weapons are still 2H for dual wielding purposes (Core 5E rule).

First Q, I don't have the book to check exact wordings and help.

_________________
LARG; Astra Tonsoria Ursula val¤Dellanov, Martial Former Tribune, Sword Sage II, T2.4
LA:5E; Barbara Duran-Dellanov, Former Tribune, Fighter 1
LRC:OP; Seraphina "Flowerchild" Amakiir, Skill Hero


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about dual wielding/laminae duo combat school
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2018 1:01 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 10:23 am
Posts: 981
Location: Miami Florida
kresnik wrote:
So I understand that dual wielding in arcanis is different, but I just wanted a clarification on the ruling. Since this combat school specifically states "Weapons: The Red Sword Fencing School’s Two Blades style uses two edged weapons of equal length, usually combining twin longswords or small swords." Does this mean that one who takes this feat for this combat school can also dual wield any two one-handed weapons even if they don't have the light property?


Correct, read the Blanaced Hands technique, the top is flavor text, the rules are below.

kresnik wrote:
If so, would this happen to stack with a fury's warped one ability which reverts greatswords to 1handed, non-light weapons and allow them to dual-wield greatswords while in their warped state?


Seeing I would totally do that to the players.... have fun. I have seen someone use their Ibon special character this way.. it was interesting.

BTW I totally envisioned a warped one carrying a long sword and a great sword for this very purpose.

_________________
Pedro Barrenechea
Stat Monkey
Minor Deity of Typos

Paradigm Concepts
Miami, Florida


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about dual wielding/laminae duo combat school
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2018 1:24 pm 

Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 11:59 am
Posts: 73
Would the Rage damage from Fury stack with Deadly Strike from the fighting style?


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about dual wielding/laminae duo combat school
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2018 12:38 pm 

Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 11:30 am
Posts: 2
I'm pretty sure it would stack with deadly strike since they are different sources of damage bonus.

Thank you for your feedback everyone. On a similar note-- do most campaigns actually use the optional large weapons rule (you can purchase a large weapon for 2x the listed price and it gets an extra damage dice, so a large longsword would deal 2d8 damage and I would assume that they would be considered non-light weapons for even large creatures so the fighting school would be mandatory to dual wield these as well)


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about dual wielding/laminae duo combat school
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 1:10 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 10:23 am
Posts: 981
Location: Miami Florida
PeteZero wrote:
Would the Rage damage from Fury stack with Deadly Strike from the fighting style?


yep.

_________________
Pedro Barrenechea
Stat Monkey
Minor Deity of Typos

Paradigm Concepts
Miami, Florida


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ]  Moderators: james.zwiers, PCI Eric, PCI_StatMonkey

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net & kodeki