Last visit was: It is currently Tue Oct 23, 2018 8:04 pm


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Salvage Operations Question
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2014 11:40 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:47 am
Posts: 2423
Location: Central Alberta
The Spell Rejuvination on the Statue (damn you Matt!): Does it apply to just ARCANE, or Divine as well?

_________________
Cody Bergman
Legends of Arcanis Campaign Staff
Initial Author Contact/Adventure Vetting

Haakon Marcus val'Virdan, Divine Holy Judge of Nier
Ruma val'Vasik, Martial Crusader and Master of the Spear
Jorma Osterman, Arcane Coryani Battlemage


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Salvage Operations Question
PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2014 1:54 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 1:06 am
Posts: 1828
Location: Portland OR
There are many different ways to manipulate the arcanum...but once the trigger is pulled I don't think there is a huge difference in the nature of the effect. You've tapped the residual energy of creation and channeled it to do something. It's all the "arcanum." For example Unravel the thread doesn't differentiate between Arcane or Divine.

So at a guess I don't think it matters to that &$?!$ statue either. Philosophically I think it should eat divine spells too.

[Edit] After downloading the module and reading the creature it specifically says Arcane spells. So my reading of plain text says that divine spells aren't absorbed. I don't entirely agree with the logic behind the way its written up but that's neither here nor there.

_________________
Eric Gorman

AKA Ambassador Tukufu, man of letters, tomb raider and Master Sword Sage
. . . and Sir Szymon val'Holryn, Order of the Phoenix
Formerly Sir Jaeger val'Holryn. Weilder of the Holy Avenger: Thonanos. Gave his soul to help free King Noen


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Salvage Operations Question
PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2014 4:12 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:47 am
Posts: 2423
Location: Central Alberta
If that is the case than the talent needs to be reworded as it suggests otherwise.

_________________
Cody Bergman
Legends of Arcanis Campaign Staff
Initial Author Contact/Adventure Vetting

Haakon Marcus val'Virdan, Divine Holy Judge of Nier
Ruma val'Vasik, Martial Crusader and Master of the Spear
Jorma Osterman, Arcane Coryani Battlemage


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Salvage Operations Question
PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2014 6:06 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 1:06 am
Posts: 1828
Location: Portland OR
The text from the module states:

Salvage stat Blocks wrote:
Spell Rejuvenation
You are healed by Arcane energies directed your way
Benefit: A creature with this ability does not suffer damage or other effects from Arcane magic. Instead, whenever they would be affected by an Arcane spell, they instead...


That seems pretty clear to me that it is just arcane magic that is absorbed. Not divine. Anyone running it in the Legends Campaign should use that.

Philosophically, as I said, I don't like the way the ability is written. I think an effect from the Arcanum is an effect from the Arcanum - once its cast and loose on the real world it all the same "stuff." The different traditions of Arcane and Divine Magic are just different ways to manipulate the residual energy of creation ... they don't represent different kinds of energies. As I understand it. So if you can eat magic spells, IMO you'd be able to eat any spell. In a home game I'd have the statue absorb everything.

My 2 cents

_________________
Eric Gorman

AKA Ambassador Tukufu, man of letters, tomb raider and Master Sword Sage
. . . and Sir Szymon val'Holryn, Order of the Phoenix
Formerly Sir Jaeger val'Holryn. Weilder of the Holy Avenger: Thonanos. Gave his soul to help free King Noen


Last edited by val Holryn on Tue Sep 02, 2014 6:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Salvage Operations Question
PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2014 6:11 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 3:59 am
Posts: 757
Location: Northwest Territories, Canada
The reason for the question is that when I played it at Origins, the GM (who is campaign staff) ruled that it works against both Arcane and Divine magic. It would be good to have something in the stat block specifically clarifying whether or not Divine magic works.

_________________
Akira Currier
aka Raseri 'Crash' val'Emman - Val Grand Master (Martial 2.10)
aka Leif of House Borghild - Skohir Human Myrmidon (Martial 2.4)
aka Rurik of Nol Dappa - Dwarven War Priest (Divine 2.3)


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Salvage Operations Question
PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2014 8:15 pm 

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 11:41 am
Posts: 484
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Nierite wrote:
The Spell Rejuvination on the Statue (damn you Matt!): Does it apply to just ARCANE, or Divine as well?


What? Little old me? *blinks eyes innocently*

I write mechanics based on what is logical to me story-wise. In this case, the intention was Arcane-only. I understand the logic to have it effect Divine also. But, in my interpretation, Ymandragore is behind the curve with their knowledge of manipulating Divine spells (and have lesser protections from them as such). But, PCI would need to comment if they would prefer it to be changed.

_________________
Matthew Flinn
Legends of Arcanis Campaign Staff
Rules Liaison

-general creator of mayhem and discord
-Exceptional quality PCI Minion and indentured servant
-Lord of the Hummingbirds


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Salvage Operations Question
PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2014 9:56 am 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 7:56 pm
Posts: 83
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
I would like to point out that almost everywhere PCI has used Arcane for spell casting type, and Arcanum for Magic in general. So if it says Arcane spells that to me means spells casted by a Arcane Caster. Now if it had said Arcanum spells well then that would be pretty much everything, possible including even Psionic.

_________________
Chris "Wisper" Collins
Primary Character: Vardish val'Borda (Expert/Templar/Seasoned Veteran)


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ]  Moderators: james.zwiers, PCI Eric

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net & kodeki