Last visit was: It is currently Sun May 27, 2018 2:32 pm


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Linked/Synergy vs Mimic/Nullify
PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 2:03 am 

Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2018 8:49 pm
Posts: 45
When multiple powers are merged and treated as a single power for purposes of advancement, how does that affect the Mimicking or Nullifying of those powers?

For example, if Bob has Energy Generation 5 and Energy/Element Manipulation 5, they have the Synergy property and are treated as one power for advancement purposes.

If Anna has Mimic 5, can she Mimic Bob's Energy Generation AND Energy/Element Manipulation 5 by virtue of the Synergy? Or are the two powers still treated as separate for Mimic and Nullify and other such interactions, such that she can Mimic one or the other but not both?


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linked/Synergy vs Mimic/Nullify
PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 5:52 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 7:06 am
Posts: 851
They are separate Powers. Synergy is neither a Perk nor a Flaw (it is 'Special') so is not Mimic'd.

Anna can use Mimic 5 to copy Bob's Energy Generation 5. She can then spent a Plot Die to Emulate Energy Manipulation 2 (1/2 ranks).

Or Anna can just take Mimic multiple times (probably applying the Linked Flaw and maybe the Slow Flaw to cut the xp costs down).

_________________
LARG; Astra Tonsoria Ursula val¤Dellanov, Martial Former Tribune, Sword Sage II, T2.4
LA:5E; Barbara Duran-Dellanov, Former Tribune, Fighter 1
LRC:OP; Seraphina "Flowerchild" Amakiir, Skill Hero


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linked/Synergy vs Mimic/Nullify
PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 1:50 am 

Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2018 8:49 pm
Posts: 45
Anna is content to remain a vehicle for examples.

How about a different example. Bob has Enhanced Might 5 and Enhanced Vigor 5 and they're both Linked. Since "Linked" is a Flaw, Anna's Mimic could theoretically include the Linked property. Thus, can Anna's Mimic copy both Enhanced Might AND Vigor? Or does she still have to pick?

And then if they have a falling out and she goes to Nullify his powers, does she only Nullify one of the two? Or does she neutralize them both by virtue of their being Linked?


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linked/Synergy vs Mimic/Nullify
PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 5:42 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 7:06 am
Posts: 851
Linked is really a 'non-functional' Flaw when using Mimic. Mimic allows you to copy *one* Power with its Flaws. It doesn't matter what the Flaws are until you try to use the power yourself. There is no free lunch. Likewise, Nullify only works on *one* Power.

Imaging using Mimic/Tech on a suit of Power Armour. It is highly likely that the PA also has most of the Power Linked. This would allow Mimic to copy 20+ Powers with a single use (yes, PA can get this complicated, one suit I use has 27 different Powers).

The rules is there for Flaws such as Fatiguing, Slow or things that limit the Power in play. The key to maximising both of these Powers is to target the key Power that may have Emulated Powers (take out the lead Power and all the Emulated Powers are Nullified as well).

_________________
LARG; Astra Tonsoria Ursula val¤Dellanov, Martial Former Tribune, Sword Sage II, T2.4
LA:5E; Barbara Duran-Dellanov, Former Tribune, Fighter 1
LRC:OP; Seraphina "Flowerchild" Amakiir, Skill Hero


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ]  Moderators: james.zwiers, PCI Eric

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net & kodeki