Last visit was: It is currently Wed Feb 21, 2018 3:54 pm


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: [Rules Q] Mask of Demesne
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2015 12:59 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:25 am
Posts: 573
Location: Dallas, TX
Eric,

The Mask of Demesne rite in the Grand Tome of Adversaries may be performed by priests (prayer) and magi (hermeticisim). Should it be commonly available, or is it meant to be restricted to adversaries? I figure Lash of Agony is a no brainer, but Mask has uses outside of hurting people (and a 0/0 Damnation requirement to boot).

Thanks,
Tom

_________________
...and a Brace of Pistols
a blog dedicated to swashbuckling, fantasy and horror gaming

Witch Hunter: The Invisible World Unofficial Home on Google+


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Rules Q] Mask of Demesne
PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2015 11:53 am 

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 12:48 pm
Posts: 213
It's your game. I would put it in the "fight fire with fire" column. Up to you to decide how they can get burned.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Rules Q] Mask of Demesne
PostPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2015 7:39 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:25 am
Posts: 573
Location: Dallas, TX
Heh. Thanks for the non-committal answer, Eric. ;) In that case, I think I will keep it off the main list of rites. Gotta hold back some surprises.

Tom

_________________
...and a Brace of Pistols
a blog dedicated to swashbuckling, fantasy and horror gaming

Witch Hunter: The Invisible World Unofficial Home on Google+


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Rules Q] Mask of Demesne
PostPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2015 7:36 pm 

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 12:48 pm
Posts: 213
It is non-committal, but that answer is right in the spirit of the damnation system. Really, what's the harm? It doesn't even have a Damnation price listed. Go ahead, it will be fine.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Rules Q] Mask of Demesne
PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2015 8:00 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:25 am
Posts: 573
Location: Dallas, TX
PCI Eric wrote:
Really, what's the harm? It doesn't even have a Damnation price listed. Go ahead, it will be fine.


Oh, I expect it would be. On the other hand, it completely removes the shock and surprise the first time the players walk through it. Not to mention, I have some pretty heady sorcerers at work in my campaign who would be pretty disgusted if these tactics were turned on them. So...no. I think I'll keep it off the books for now.

Actually, I'd be MORE inclined to include it in the general rites list if it DID have a Damnation cost. Just to watch my players twist in the wind. But with only one hermeticist in the group, I don't think this "oversight" will be too bad.

Tom

_________________
...and a Brace of Pistols
a blog dedicated to swashbuckling, fantasy and horror gaming

Witch Hunter: The Invisible World Unofficial Home on Google+


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ]  Moderators: james.zwiers, PCI Eric

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net & kodeki