Paradigm Concepts

[Rules Q] Rite or Ritual?
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Blusponge [ Mon Sep 14, 2015 9:17 am ]
Post subject:  [Rules Q] Rite or Ritual?

Some of the Rites in the core book are specifically distinguished as "rituals":

Wearing the Beast's Skin (Animism)
Exorcism (Prayer)
Holy Weapon (Prayer)
Divine Reward (Prayer)

Now, in 1st edition, being a ritual had a meaning:

Witch Hunter First edition, page 120, under Difficulty wrote:
If the term Ritual is listed here, it means that the caster may bank successes to complete the rite. Banking means that not all the successes must be rolled in one round and instead is accumulated each and every round until the Difficulty is reached. Each roll of the skill takes an additional amount of time as listed in Time below.

There is no such distinction in the 2nd edition core book or in Rites and Relics. So under the new edition, is there any real distinction for a "ritual", or is this just an archaic hold over that snuck by the editors and should be crossed out? If not, how are rituals supposed to work under 2nd edition? Do they always require a dice roll? How do rituals work with boosting? (After all, if you can bank successes, why wouldn't you boost?) Is there a threshold of failure or complications that affects the outcome? (Seems logical.)


Author:  PCI Eric [ Tue Sep 15, 2015 7:44 am ]
Post subject:  Re: [Rules Q] Rite or Ritual?

That is an artifact from 1e that we missed in edit.

Author:  Blusponge [ Tue Sep 15, 2015 2:44 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: [Rules Q] Rite or Ritual?

Thanks, Eric.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group