Last visit was: It is currently Wed Apr 08, 2020 5:36 pm


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Gladius of Light and Incorporeal
PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 5:53 am 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 7:06 am
Posts: 934
Hi,

Does Gladius bypass the Incorporeal trait? It specifically targets the correct foe (Undead and Spirits in this case), but doesn't specifically list Incorporeal in the description.

_________________
LARG; Astra Tonsoria Ursula val¤Dellanov, Martial Former Tribune, Centurion Sword Sage II, T3.1
LA:5E; Barbara Duran-Dellanov, Former Tribune, Fighter 4
LRC:OP; Seraphina "Flowerchild" Amakiir, Skill Hero


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gladius of Light and Incorporeal
PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 8:52 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 10:23 am
Posts: 1026
Location: Miami Florida
Southernskies wrote:
Hi,

Does Gladius bypass the Incorporeal trait? It specifically targets the correct foe (Undead and Spirits in this case), but doesn't specifically list Incorporeal in the description.


Gladius of light is the result of a spell, and thought it creates a "weapon" it's still a spell effect which specifically targets Undead, Spirits, and Infernals

thus it effects Undead, Spirits, and Infernals which are Incorporeal.

Something which should be clarified in the spell for sure

_________________
Pedro Barrenechea
Stat Monkey
Minor Deity of Typos

Paradigm Concepts
Miami, Florida


Last edited by PCI_StatMonkey on Tue Feb 18, 2014 9:15 am, edited 4 times in total.

Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gladius of Light and Incorporeal
PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 9:01 am 

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:36 am
Posts: 1554
can you unwrap that for me a bit? incorporeal doesn't mention magic weapons, just runes and spells

_________________
--Josh Elliott
Oswald val'Inares V, The Seeker of the Val'Inares
Harvester Lord of the Eastern Fields of Iowa


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gladius of Light and Incorporeal
PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 9:07 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 10:23 am
Posts: 1026
Location: Miami Florida
SamhainIA wrote:
can you unwrap that for me a bit? incorporeal doesn't mention magic weapons, just runes and spells


See above

_________________
Pedro Barrenechea
Stat Monkey
Minor Deity of Typos

Paradigm Concepts
Miami, Florida


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gladius of Light and Incorporeal
PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 9:15 am 

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:36 am
Posts: 1554
Quote:
Mundane weapons deal only half damage, whereas runes and spells, which specifically target them deal full damage.


that's from the bestiary

I think your trying to say that this should be the text:

Mundane weapons deal only half damage, Spells do full damage and runes which
specifically target them deal full damage.

_________________
--Josh Elliott
Oswald val'Inares V, The Seeker of the Val'Inares
Harvester Lord of the Eastern Fields of Iowa


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gladius of Light and Incorporeal
PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 9:28 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 10:23 am
Posts: 1026
Location: Miami Florida
No no Incorporeal is correct

Gladius of Light needs to be clarified as it is meant to target undead, spirits, and infernal, especially incorporeal ones.

_________________
Pedro Barrenechea
Stat Monkey
Minor Deity of Typos

Paradigm Concepts
Miami, Florida


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gladius of Light and Incorporeal
PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 9:34 am 

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:36 am
Posts: 1554
so the rules you are putting out there don't exist yet, gotcha I hope to see them in the FAQ

_________________
--Josh Elliott
Oswald val'Inares V, The Seeker of the Val'Inares
Harvester Lord of the Eastern Fields of Iowa


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gladius of Light and Incorporeal
PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 9:54 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:40 am
Posts: 2046
It appears the rules exist, just need clarification. Incorporeal says that spells and runes which target the specific creature do full damage. Gladius of light mentions that it targets specific creatures (and if they are incorporeal it does full damage).

I'm having trouble seeing where the confusion lies.

John

_________________
- John Bellando

Kelb'Bakari Masalio, Dark-kin Altherian Corsair, Gentleman Archaeologist, and Wandering Bard
"The highest compliment an Altherian can pay you is to shoot you with his flintlock. It means you were worth the expense."


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gladius of Light and Incorporeal
PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 10:25 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 10:23 am
Posts: 1026
Location: Miami Florida
Harliquinn wrote:
It appears the rules exist, just need clarification. Incorporeal says that spells and runes which target the specific creature do full damage. Gladius of light mentions that it targets specific creatures (and if they are incorporeal it does full damage).

I'm having trouble seeing where the confusion lies.

John


thank you john...

_________________
Pedro Barrenechea
Stat Monkey
Minor Deity of Typos

Paradigm Concepts
Miami, Florida


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gladius of Light and Incorporeal
PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 11:30 am 

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:36 am
Posts: 1554
Yeah gladius doesn't mention incorporeal at all, it mentions "undead spirits and infernal"

you have to dig into the bestiary to find out what a spirit is by definition, and find out that its incorporeal, Shades are also incorporeal undead, does the gladius affect them also?

I think the clarification that needs to be made is that spells that specifically target shades and/or spirits bypass their incorporeality


The basic problem I'm having can be summed up as:
A Incorporeal says "...spells which specifically target them(incorporeal creatures) deal full damage."

B Shades and Spirits get the incorporeal trait

C Any monster can get the Incorporeal trait (..ish)

The question was does the gladius bypass the incorporeal trait, and from a strict reading of the rules, no it does not. one could make an argument that Gladius of light can affect creatures that are incorporeal because they are spirits, but not ones that are incorporeal because they are shades, or are incorporeal because they are under the effects of the "Ghost Step" spell.

as far as i can tell there are no spells that would affect a val under the ghost step power.

Monster type and associated traits aren't the same from my standpoint.

_________________
--Josh Elliott
Oswald val'Inares V, The Seeker of the Val'Inares
Harvester Lord of the Eastern Fields of Iowa


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Moderators: james.zwiers, PCI Eric, PCI_StatMonkey Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net & kodeki