Last visit was: It is currently Tue Nov 12, 2019 9:52 pm


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Double Talent Question
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 10:13 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 7:56 pm
Posts: 83
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
Ok a player is creating a Divine character with the Templar background. Each on gives deity’s chosen armor. The problem is the character is a worshiper of Larissa who gets Masterful Defense. Does that mean the character then get the talent twice? Once at T1 and then another at T2 or is the second Masterful Defense just lost?

_________________
Chris "Wisper" Collins
Primary Character: Vardish val'Borda (Expert/Templar/Seasoned Veteran)


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Double Talent Question
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 10:15 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:47 am
Posts: 2470
Location: Central Alberta
If you have two repeats of a talent that is tiered, you only gain one benefit until you reach the next tier in which that talent has an effect. As such, you WILL get the benefits eventually, but have to wait until you reach the next appropriate tier.

_________________
Cody Bergman
Legends of Arcanis Campaign Staff
Initial Author Contact/Adventure Vetting

Haakon Marcus val'Virdan, Divine Holy Judge of Nier
Ruma val'Vasik, Martial Crusader and Master of the Spear
Jorma Osterman, Arcane Coryani Battlemage


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Double Talent Question
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 10:16 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 7:56 pm
Posts: 83
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
That is what I thought just wanted to hear I was right.

_________________
Chris "Wisper" Collins
Primary Character: Vardish val'Borda (Expert/Templar/Seasoned Veteran)


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Double Talent Question
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 10:25 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 7:06 am
Posts: 920
There are a few talents that this happens to (or can be manipulated to) during creation.

My Martial has Leadership I (archetype) and II (background), which will save taking it during Tier II.

If you plan far in advance (like I tend to do), there are all sorts of odd combo's that can be picked up more cheaply (mechanically) than taking them when you reach the correct tier.

_________________
LARG; Astra Tonsoria Ursula val¤Dellanov, Martial Former Tribune, Centurion Sword Sage II, T3.1
LA:5E; Barbara Duran-Dellanov, Former Tribune, Fighter 4
LRC:OP; Seraphina "Flowerchild" Amakiir, Skill Hero


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Double Talent Question
PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2014 10:24 am 

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:36 am
Posts: 1554
its worth nothing if its not tiered ( and not weapon or armor training) its just lost

_________________
--Josh Elliott
Oswald val'Inares V, The Seeker of the Val'Inares
Harvester Lord of the Eastern Fields of Iowa


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Double Talent Question
PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:59 am 

Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 9:12 pm
Posts: 609
Please note that if you get a talent such as campaigner twice you have lost a talent.

Talents that Teir up you gain the talent but can't use it until you meet the Teir requirements.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ]  Moderators: james.zwiers, PCI Eric, PCI_StatMonkey

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net & kodeki