Paradigm Concepts

divine spellcasting and the priesthood
Page 1 of 1

Author:  toodeep [ Fri Feb 07, 2014 4:26 pm ]
Post subject:  divine spellcasting and the priesthood

I noticed that Initiate of the Gods neither gives nor requires Divine Spellcasting. (though it allows access) Then I noticed an Initiate of Sarish gets arcanum (sorcery), so it wouldn't be a total waste for a sorcerer (arcane achetype) to take. Thought it might be interesting to be a priest-sorcerer advancing up through the church of sarish, rather than a sorcerer-priest. Obviously the rest of the church would be horrified, but would the Sarishan's accept someone like that?

Author:  val Holryn [ Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:20 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: divine spellcasting and the priesthood

I am not entirely sure what you mean.

If you are asking can my arcane archetype Sarishian SP take divine initiate then the answer is yes. Ditto if you are martial expert... Yadda yadda. For that matter there is no spellcasting requirement to be a member of any given Temple. You still get to give the Arcanis version of mass and sit in on the official meetings.

If you are asking if your eldritch caster can take Initiate of Sarish .... Well that's a different kettle of fish. Rules as written would seem to allow it. But from an RP perspective I think most of the Mother Church and the Milandesian Orthodox Church would be horrified. Not sure if the Temple of Sarish would willingly take such a character in. Yet another consideration is if your spellcasting is known or not (if you are hiding it). Overall I would not recommend this for the shared world campaign.

Author:  PCIHenry [ Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:24 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: divine spellcasting and the priesthood


From a story perspective: No, unless you want to be an administrative priest that has access to NO spell casting what-so-ever.

The liturgy of the Church of Sarish is that of the Sorcerer-Priest; there isn't another type or flavor of priest (other than the NPC paper pusher type).

Author:  toodeep [ Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:44 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: divine spellcasting and the priesthood

Not sure if that is a yes that eldritch casters can become priests or not (without divine casting).

But it is clear that one way or the other they would be a nobody in the church because they weren't sorcerer-priests, which is pretty much what I expected.

Thanks for the confirmation!

Author:  Nierite [ Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: divine spellcasting and the priesthood

Sarishan Priests are Sorceror Priests. Eldritch is considered something of a Heresy, but there is nothing MECHANICALLY to prevent an Eldritch caster from taking Initiate. That said, you cannot double down and get both ASC: Sorcerer Priest AND ASC: Eldritch.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group