Last visit was: It is currently Wed Oct 23, 2019 7:43 pm


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Maneuevers questions
PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 4:58 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:40 am
Posts: 2046
SamhainIA wrote:
then why are they even base maneuvers?

so if your correct Devin the only maneuver that could be combined is riposte, and it has nothing it can combine with.


I think what he meant was "Cannot be combined with anything other than another push maneuver". I don't recall it being any other maneuver.

John

_________________
- John Bellando

Kelb'Bakari Masalio, Dark-kin Altherian Corsair, Gentleman Archaeologist, and Wandering Bard
"The highest compliment an Altherian can pay you is to shoot you with his flintlock. It means you were worth the expense."


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Maneuevers questions
PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 5:07 pm 

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:36 am
Posts: 1554
my question still stands, is that if only one push maneuver says that, there isn't anything else for it to combine with because the other Base push maneuvers aren't combineable by the test of that rule.

Also I would challenge you to find something to combine with Riposte that makes sense

_________________
--Josh Elliott
Oswald val'Inares V, The Seeker of the Val'Inares
Harvester Lord of the Eastern Fields of Iowa


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Maneuevers questions
PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 5:21 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:40 am
Posts: 2046
For succinctness and clarity, the way I remember it (and would recommend it) is:

A Base Push maneuver may only be combined with another Base Push maneuver. Now, I'm also willing to bet that all Push maneuvers were intended to be Advanced to avoid this anyways. I only see 2 (3 if you count Riposte) Push maneuvers that are Base: Quick Set and Trail of Bodies.

The reason Riposte has a Special is because it starts off as Advanced and then becomes Base, so it clarifies what that means. I think it's fair to extrapolate from that. You can't really combine any of the 3 Push maneuvers with one another as their triggers are all different: Get Charged, Vanquish a Foe, and Missed by a melee attack.

However, when looking at the Push maneuvers, the ability to combine them with a non-Push could be problematic. Sure, I haven't looked at every combination but Trail of Bodies in particular could be read in a number of ways. It says you can use this maneuver under Recovery, so does that apply if you use it as an Advanced maneuver?

John

_________________
- John Bellando

Kelb'Bakari Masalio, Dark-kin Altherian Corsair, Gentleman Archaeologist, and Wandering Bard
"The highest compliment an Altherian can pay you is to shoot you with his flintlock. It means you were worth the expense."


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Maneuevers questions
PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 5:45 pm 

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:36 am
Posts: 1554
You missed Rend (CoH) But that just goes to highlight your point of there being exceedingly few Push maneuvers (there are however more Push spells but thats going to be an advanced discussion)

I cant see how you would combine any of the Base push maneuvers, considering the would inherit the same triggers , and you not likely to be charged while holding a spear and vanquish someone at the same time ( I would posit that those two criteria are mutually exclusive) and all of the criteria for Push maneuvers are like wise exclusive and don't make sense when combined.

I think that any of those (including Riposte) should be able to combine with non push maneuvers that seems to be supported by the Base maneuver tag, we just need a bit of guidance.

_________________
--Josh Elliott
Oswald val'Inares V, The Seeker of the Val'Inares
Harvester Lord of the Eastern Fields of Iowa


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Maneuevers questions
PostPosted: Sat Dec 14, 2013 1:14 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 1:06 am
Posts: 1978
Location: Portland OR
There may be more push maneuvers at a future point. Make submissions.

I do not believe it was the intention of the rules to combine push maneuvers with non-push maneuvers. Pedro could come on board and destroy this potion with a post, but there is nothing to suggest how you would officially go about it. Josh's idea is interesting, and might be a great house rule. But there's nothing I read in A:RPG that suggests this was intended.

_________________
Eric Gorman

AKA Ambassador Tukufu, man of letters, tomb raider and Master Sword Sage
. . . and Sir Szymon val'Holryn, Order of the Phoenix
Formerly Sir Jaeger val'Holryn. Weilder of the Holy Avenger: Thonanos. Gave his soul to help free King Noen


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Maneuevers questions
PostPosted: Tue Dec 17, 2013 6:47 pm 

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:36 am
Posts: 1554
Quote:
add the following sentence to the end of the
Effects entry:
When creating an advanced martial maneuver that grants multiple attribute dice, only one die may explode. Also you may not combine maneuvers with a Push speed.


found that in the errata, while looking for something else

Whoopsie im wrong (ish) it still leaves us with outanything useful to combine with riposte

_________________
--Josh Elliott
Oswald val'Inares V, The Seeker of the Val'Inares
Harvester Lord of the Eastern Fields of Iowa


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Maneuevers questions
PostPosted: Tue Dec 17, 2013 6:53 pm 

Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 9:12 pm
Posts: 609
SamhainIA wrote:
it still leaves us with outanything useful to combine with riposte
True.

It can only be combined with Quick Set and Trail of Bones.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Moderators: james.zwiers, PCI Eric, PCI_StatMonkey Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net & kodeki