Last visit was: It is currently Wed Oct 23, 2019 7:26 pm


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Advanced Maneuevers questions
PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 12:20 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:40 am
Posts: 2046
1) Do Push maneuvers need to be combined with other Push maneuvers? Can a Push maneuver be combined with a regular maneuver?

2) Can a Melee weapon with the thrown property or with. Thrown trick be combined with a Melee trick at range?

John

_________________
- John Bellando

Kelb'Bakari Masalio, Dark-kin Altherian Corsair, Gentleman Archaeologist, and Wandering Bard
"The highest compliment an Altherian can pay you is to shoot you with his flintlock. It means you were worth the expense."


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Maneuevers questions
PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 12:32 am 

Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 4:12 pm
Posts: 1037
My take would be:
  1. Yes. Push must be combined with Push.
  2. No. Thrown is ranged so it would have to be combined with another ranged trick/maneuver.

_________________
Steve Wilcoxon
Ss'kethis - Expert Holy Champion of the Fire Dragon 3.1
G'hyu'thyh Sungha - Martial Templar of Illiir 1.7
Eryk Bauer - Martial Awakened 1.2


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Maneuevers questions
PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 9:22 am 

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:36 am
Posts: 1554
1 My take would be no unless specifically listed, the example I would use is Quick set

Quote:
Quick Set
Category: Base
Speed (Recovery): Push +* (3)
...Push your Clock Speed by the Speed of your weapon.


and say we combine it with pressing attack

Quote:
Pressing Attack
Category: Base
Speed (Recovery): +2 (0)


We take the slowest speed cost and and the other trick speed as additional recovery so in this case using a long spear (speed 6) we would get Push 6, Recovery 5

_________________
--Josh Elliott
Oswald val'Inares V, The Seeker of the Val'Inares
Harvester Lord of the Eastern Fields of Iowa


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Maneuevers questions
PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 9:48 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:40 am
Posts: 2046
The problem isn't one of math in my opinion but of balance. There are some maneuvers that probably shouldn't be able to be used in response to an attack (combined with a Push).

Imagine: Combining Quick Set with Flowing Sand - You get charged, and now get to move your entire pace, making a ton of attacks as a Push action.

John

_________________
- John Bellando

Kelb'Bakari Masalio, Dark-kin Altherian Corsair, Gentleman Archaeologist, and Wandering Bard
"The highest compliment an Altherian can pay you is to shoot you with his flintlock. It means you were worth the expense."


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Maneuevers questions
PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 9:55 am 

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:36 am
Posts: 1554
well the rules currently allow for A pound of Flesh / Elemental Bolt to be combined into a pretty grizzly AOE too

_________________
--Josh Elliott
Oswald val'Inares V, The Seeker of the Val'Inares
Harvester Lord of the Eastern Fields of Iowa


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Maneuevers questions
PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 10:01 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:40 am
Posts: 2046
SamhainIA wrote:
well the rules currently allow for A pound of Flesh / Elemental Bolt to be combined into a pretty grizzly AOE too


Except I think it's been made clear that you only get healed for the damage from the pound of flesh part, hasn't it?

John

_________________
- John Bellando

Kelb'Bakari Masalio, Dark-kin Altherian Corsair, Gentleman Archaeologist, and Wandering Bard
"The highest compliment an Altherian can pay you is to shoot you with his flintlock. It means you were worth the expense."


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Maneuevers questions
PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 10:03 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:40 am
Posts: 2046
And if we're using spells to extrapolate, I do not believe you can combine a Push Spell with a normal casting Spell by the rules.

_________________
- John Bellando

Kelb'Bakari Masalio, Dark-kin Altherian Corsair, Gentleman Archaeologist, and Wandering Bard
"The highest compliment an Altherian can pay you is to shoot you with his flintlock. It means you were worth the expense."


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Maneuevers questions
PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 10:14 am 

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:36 am
Posts: 1554
i still havent found that rule anywhere

_________________
--Josh Elliott
Oswald val'Inares V, The Seeker of the Val'Inares
Harvester Lord of the Eastern Fields of Iowa


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Maneuevers questions
PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 10:18 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:40 am
Posts: 2046
If it isn't in the rules, I think it should be. Spells or Maneuvers with Push are special cases and allowing them to be combined with non-Push spells and maneuvers I think will result in some balance-challenged combinations. I don't think they should be changed to "Advanced" because you could combine 2 push spells or maneuvers.

John

_________________
- John Bellando

Kelb'Bakari Masalio, Dark-kin Altherian Corsair, Gentleman Archaeologist, and Wandering Bard
"The highest compliment an Altherian can pay you is to shoot you with his flintlock. It means you were worth the expense."


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Maneuevers questions
PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 10:25 am 

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:36 am
Posts: 1554
but if they arent, you have to let people do things with them that make sense

_________________
--Josh Elliott
Oswald val'Inares V, The Seeker of the Val'Inares
Harvester Lord of the Eastern Fields of Iowa


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Moderators: james.zwiers, PCI Eric, PCI_StatMonkey Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net & kodeki