Last visit was: It is currently Thu Oct 17, 2019 7:58 am


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Advanced Technique: Seaspray Assault
PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 4:23 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:40 am
Posts: 2046
Seaspray Assault
Two-Weapon Fighting + Unbalanced Attack with Throwing Blade and Steel Whip

TWF Speed: +2 (0) - Extrapolating since it's mainly a Talent that creates a Maneuver
Unbalanced Attack Speed: +1 (4)

Category: Advanced
Attack: Avoidance/Discipline (Prowess)
Speed (Recovery): +4 (Slower Weapon Speed) +1 (6)
Range: 10' / Melee (with Incidental)
Effect: Weapon (Throwing Blade) -3; You gain a +2 to hit and add your Prowess Attribute Die as additional damage on your next attack against this foe. Both attacks are at -2 penalty to hit.

Does that all add up correctly?

John

_________________
- John Bellando

Kelb'Bakari Masalio, Dark-kin Altherian Corsair, Gentleman Archaeologist, and Wandering Bard
"The highest compliment an Altherian can pay you is to shoot you with his flintlock. It means you were worth the expense."


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Technique: Seaspray Assault
PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 4:40 pm 

Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 4:12 pm
Posts: 1037
That looks correct to me.

The one question I have is are you allowed to do an incidental on the second attack of a TWF maneuver? I don't remember seeing anything saying explicitly either way. TWF does say "make a basic attack" but is handled oddly because you "advance your clock by speed+2" rather than it explicitly being a speed change like most maneuvers (or I could be reading too much into the wording of TWF).

_________________
Steve Wilcoxon
Ss'kethis - Expert Holy Champion of the Fire Dragon 3.1
G'hyu'thyh Sungha - Martial Templar of Illiir 1.7
Eryk Bauer - Martial Awakened 1.2


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Technique: Seaspray Assault
PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 4:51 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:47 am
Posts: 2467
Location: Central Alberta
Isn't TWF a Basic Maneuver (not Base) and cannot be combined? Don't you need Spinning Strike to actually make it legal?

_________________
Cody Bergman
Legends of Arcanis Campaign Staff
Initial Author Contact/Adventure Vetting

Haakon Marcus val'Virdan, Divine Holy Judge of Nier
Ruma val'Vasik, Martial Crusader and Master of the Spear
Jorma Osterman, Arcane Coryani Battlemage


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Technique: Seaspray Assault
PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 4:52 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:40 am
Posts: 2046
wilcoxon wrote:
That looks correct to me.

The one question I have is are you allowed to do an incidental on the second attack of a TWF maneuver? I don't remember seeing anything saying explicitly either way. TWF does say "make a basic attack" but is handled oddly because you "advance your clock by speed+2" rather than it explicitly being a speed change like most maneuvers (or I could be reading too much into the wording of TWF).


By the rules, you can move between attacks.

Quote:
The character may perform this movement [Incidental Movement] at any point before, during, or after their action


I've yet to be at a table in which Incidental Movement could not be taken between attacks of a Two-Weapon Fighting, assuming you didn't take Incidental Movement prior to the first attack.

John

_________________
- John Bellando

Kelb'Bakari Masalio, Dark-kin Altherian Corsair, Gentleman Archaeologist, and Wandering Bard
"The highest compliment an Altherian can pay you is to shoot you with his flintlock. It means you were worth the expense."


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Technique: Seaspray Assault
PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 4:53 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:40 am
Posts: 2046
Nierite wrote:
Isn't TWF a Basic Maneuver (not Base) and cannot be combined? Don't you need Spinning Strike to actually make it legal?


Not once you've taken the Talent: Two Weapon Fighting, it's a Base Maneuver at that point.

John

_________________
- John Bellando

Kelb'Bakari Masalio, Dark-kin Altherian Corsair, Gentleman Archaeologist, and Wandering Bard
"The highest compliment an Altherian can pay you is to shoot you with his flintlock. It means you were worth the expense."


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Technique: Seaspray Assault
PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 8:51 pm 

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 11:41 am
Posts: 486
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
iirc, you may only throw your off-hand weapon, which is the 2nd attack

_________________
Matthew Flinn
Legends of Arcanis Campaign Staff
Rules Liaison

-general creator of mayhem and discord
-Exceptional quality PCI Minion and indentured servant
-Lord of the Hummingbirds


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Technique: Seaspray Assault
PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 8:54 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:40 am
Posts: 2046
mighty28 wrote:
iirc, you may only throw your off-hand weapon, which is the 2nd attack


Not sure why that might be the case. I know Pedro has said in the past that if you drop your opponent with the first attack of a TWF, you have the option of throwing your weapon for your 2nd attack. I never took from that option that it was only your 2nd attack.

John

_________________
- John Bellando

Kelb'Bakari Masalio, Dark-kin Altherian Corsair, Gentleman Archaeologist, and Wandering Bard
"The highest compliment an Altherian can pay you is to shoot you with his flintlock. It means you were worth the expense."


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Technique: Seaspray Assault
PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 7:04 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 7:06 am
Posts: 909
As your off-hand weapon will not be light, the attack penalty will be -3 (steel whip)

_________________
LARG; Astra Tonsoria Ursula val¤Dellanov, Martial Former Tribune, Centurion Sword Sage II, T3.1
LA:5E; Barbara Duran-Dellanov, Former Tribune, Fighter 4
LRC:OP; Seraphina "Flowerchild" Amakiir, Skill Hero


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Technique: Seaspray Assault
PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 7:10 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:40 am
Posts: 2046
As long as one weapon is light, the penalty is -2 for both.

John

_________________
- John Bellando

Kelb'Bakari Masalio, Dark-kin Altherian Corsair, Gentleman Archaeologist, and Wandering Bard
"The highest compliment an Altherian can pay you is to shoot you with his flintlock. It means you were worth the expense."


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ]  Moderators: james.zwiers, PCI Eric, PCI_StatMonkey

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net & kodeki