Last visit was: It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:35 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Magic items in other campaign settings, help me out!
PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 7:14 pm 

I'm new to Arcanis, but I've kickstarted the Forged in Magic Reformed book, and my group loves it. However, we just play with generic D&D races and deities. So, regarding attunement for magic items that require specific races or a character to be a "follower of ???" or a "worshipper of ???" ...how could we handle these attunement requirements? Would it be unfair to ignore them? Are there comparable races and deities?

Any help on this would be great!! I wasn't sure if there was an official rule for this, or a rule that was commonly used.

:)

Offline Profile  

Post subject: Re: Magic items in other campaign settings, help me out!
PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 7:49 pm 

The deities of Arcanis can be exchanged for thematically appropriate deities in other settings. For example, if you have a worshiper of Thor, it would be appropriate for a lot of Hurrian-centric gear since in Arcanis, the God Hurrian is the god of Honourable War, Defence, Storms, and the Air. Similarly, a god like Kossuth could be exchanged with Nier (God of Fire, Justice, Destruction, and Zealotry) or Keleos (the Elorii Fire God). The best method would probably be to look at the general traits of the item in question, and find the God in your setting which represents some of those traits.

For reference, Arcanis Gods have no alignment. They are True Neutral for the most part, and have both good and evil, and even lawful and chaotic tendencies and traits. Take Nier for example: on one hand he is the god of fire (Chaos) and destruction (evil), but he is also the Holy Judge (Law) and engenders people to become Paladins (Good).

Haakon Marcus val'Virdan, Divine Holy Judge of Nier
Ruma val'Vasik, Martial Crusader and Master of the Spear
Jorma Osterman, Arcane Coryani Battlemage

Offline Profile