Last visit was: It is currently Tue Oct 22, 2019 1:56 pm


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Sarish is Known to His Chosen
PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2013 12:21 pm 

Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 11:59 am
Posts: 97
So, if you have Arcanum (Sorcery) as a Trained skill, you only get the +1, but do not learn a new spell? Or do you learn the spell from the ward or blood tradition as well?
Also does Sarish is Known to His Chosen stack with Prodigy or not? Somewhere I read it in the old forums, and IIRC they do stack for some reason, but I might be wrong.
Thanks for clarification.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sarish is Known to His Chosen
PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2013 12:39 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:47 am
Posts: 2469
Location: Central Alberta
1) You still learn a spell. The +1 to Arcanum (Sorcery) is only if you are already trained in it, since otherwise it would be "gain Arcanum (Sorcery) as a trained skill. . . oh, you have it already? Ummm. . ."

2) No. Bloodline talents are talents, so unless it specifically says like bonus' from the same source (in this case, static +1 from a talent) do not stack.

_________________
Cody Bergman
Legends of Arcanis Campaign Staff
Initial Author Contact/Adventure Vetting

Haakon Marcus val'Virdan, Divine Holy Judge of Nier
Ruma val'Vasik, Martial Crusader and Master of the Spear
Jorma Osterman, Arcane Coryani Battlemage


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sarish is Known to His Chosen
PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2013 12:48 pm 

Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 11:59 am
Posts: 97
Thank you.
Was not 100% sure, as the wording said, instead of learning a spell you gain a +1 bonus to
all Arcanum (Sorcery) Action Skill Rolls. So you get both, +1 and a spell then, if you are trained in Arcanum (Sorcery)?!

With Learn spell, do I have to have a specific tradition learned, or can I learn a spell from any tradition?
Say:
primary - elelemental
secondary - wards, blood

Can I then learn something from creation tradition using the learn spell talent as a Sorcerer-Priest?
Thanks again.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sarish is Known to His Chosen
PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2013 1:15 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:47 am
Posts: 2469
Location: Central Alberta
Sarish is Known to His Chosen, ARPG, pg. 222 wrote:
You may now use Arcanum (Sorcery) untrained with
a bonus equal to your Bloodrank. You have also instinctively
learned how to cast a single spell. You learn a single spell
from the Wards or Blood Traditions. If you possess Arcanum
(Sorcery) as a Primary skill, you instead gain a +1 bonus to
all Arcanum (Sorcery) Action Skill Rolls.


1) You gain a spell which MUST come from either the Wards of Blood Tradition. This spell is gained as if you used Learn Spell (ta).

1) If you are not trained in Arcanum (Sorcery), you are able to use the skill using your bloodrank instead to cast the spell that you have gained through your bloodline power.

2) If you ARE trained in Arcanum (Sorcery), then you must use Arcanum (Sorcery) to cast the spell gained through your bloodline power, and you gain a +1 bonus (not +1 rank) to all Arcanum Action Skill Rolls, similar to Prodigy (Sorcerer-Priest of Sarish) (ta).

For Learn Spell:

Learn Spell, ARPG, pg. 200 wrote:
Choose a spell, which must be of a Tier equal to
yours or below, from a Tradition you already know.

_________________
Cody Bergman
Legends of Arcanis Campaign Staff
Initial Author Contact/Adventure Vetting

Haakon Marcus val'Virdan, Divine Holy Judge of Nier
Ruma val'Vasik, Martial Crusader and Master of the Spear
Jorma Osterman, Arcane Coryani Battlemage


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ]  Moderators: james.zwiers, PCI Eric, PCI_StatMonkey

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net & kodeki