Paradigm Concepts

Pounce questions
Page 1 of 1

Author:  toodeep [ Sun Feb 12, 2017 8:56 am ]
Post subject:  Pounce questions

3 quick questions generally about rend:

1. Just confirming the it does just add to the damage of a previous attack. Since it is a push action it can be added into an advanced maneuver for an additional amount of damage, I assume without issues about stacking. Is that correct? would it stack with a reckless swings attack before hand that also adds passive might to the damage?

2. It is only available through the fighting style tooth and claw. Fighting styles count as stances, right? So can you rend while in forward stance (without using tooth and claw) or is the use of rend a default use of tooth and claw, and thus you can't use forward stance at the same time? I find it a little confusing what it means to be in a stance when using a fighting style. I suspect this is the case, but thought I should check.

3. Rend states that you need to have just used a, "Two-Weapon Fighting based Attack and successfully dealing damage with each of your claws." I assume this means that the maneuver Double Stab counts since it is a two-weapon fighting maneuver and appears to apply the damage from both hands. Is that correct?

addendum: I find it odd that vital strike is one of the manuevers that can qualify for the tooth and claw advantage, when double stab is almost identical in effect except it needs two-weapon fighting - which the fighting style requires. It seems like the style should give advantage using double stab, not vital strike.

Author:  wilcoxon [ Fri Feb 17, 2017 12:20 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Pounce questions

1) I think you are correct.
2) No. I'm pretty sure the fighting styles say that you must be in the stance to use the special maneuvers of the style (so you can't rend while in forward stance).

Author:  Southernskies [ Fri Aug 07, 2020 1:49 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Pounce questions

an update to this one (since I am now looking at Double Stab myself); Double Stab is not a valid manoeuvre for unarmed (it can only be used with Melee/Balanced or Melee/Unbalanced skills).

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group