Last visit was: It is currently Fri Sep 20, 2019 3:29 pm


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Worn weapon questions
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2015 3:28 pm 

Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 9:37 pm
Posts: 802
Location: Michigan
I have some small interpretation questions about melee (unarmed) that have to do with a character punching and equipment type and quality.

My character generally fights unarmed using “Body of the Warrior” wears gauntlets. I’ve been working on the assumption that you can cast with gauntlets on. I often cast “Body of the Warrior” that makes your blows harder and gives you an unarmed attack value even barehanded, without substantially changing the structure of your hand. I’ve been assuming that under the effect of the spell my hand’s spell-enhanced toughness supersedes my gauntlet, so I can use my spell enhanced damage even using a hand wearing gauntlets.

1. If I get an exceptional pair of gauntlets would the +1 bonus damage from the quality of the gauntlet still apply when using “Body of the Warrior” blow damage rather than gauntlet damage? I’ve been assuming not, but thought I should check. Obviously there is no speed reduction, since both the weapons and normal unarmed are already speed 3. 

2. If I get a particular material of gauntlets – say sarishan steel or fervidite, can I apply the bonus of that material to my blows even when using “body of the warrior” damage? I would assume so, since it is that material actually making contact with the flesh of the enemy, but thought I should check.

3. The Cestus (1 sp) consists of leather thongs that either hold spikes (the Myrmex) or blades (the Sphairai) in place on your hand to use in combat. Is there any reason one of these options couldn’t be added to gauntlets (10 sp)? Would it be fair and reasonable to pay the cost of both gauntlets and a cestus and then say you have a spiked or bladed gauntlet, and be able to do the weapon tricks of both a gauntlet and a Cestus? They both do the same damage, so there wouldn’t be any change to that. I have not done that yet, but think it is reasonable, but did not want to be “making up new weapons” without at least discussing it first. I suppose there is nothing saying that you can’t wear both simultaneously on one hand, but I like the idea of having them combined physically better.

4. Does anyone see a problem with using the weapon tricks of worn weapons while using the damage of “Body of the Warrior?” i.e. Doing 1d6 damage from an adapted “Body of the Warrior” blow, +5 damage from a cestus mighty swing? For a total of 1d6+5? Or to get the mighty swing, do you think I would be limited to the 1d4 of the Cestus?

_________________
AKA Kavaris, awakened "Human" from the Hinterlands, psionic transmutation specialist, adventurer, and no one important


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Worn weapon questions
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2015 5:32 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 7:06 am
Posts: 900
1. No, unarmed is not just using your fists (Astra uses a lot of knees and kick attacks)
2. No, you must use the weapon to benefit.
3. No, different weapon, different proficiency and tricks.
4. As long as you are proficient in *both* Gauntlet and Unarmed, the Weapon Tricks are interchangeable (see Worn quality).

_________________
LARG; Astra Tonsoria Ursula val¤Dellanov, Martial Former Tribune, Centurion Sword Sage II, T3.1
LA:5E; Barbara Duran-Dellanov, Former Tribune, Fighter 4
LRC:OP; Seraphina "Flowerchild" Amakiir, Skill Hero


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Worn weapon questions
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2015 5:53 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 1:06 am
Posts: 1959
Location: Portland OR
Personally I'd give you #2. Otherwise as Southernskies

_________________
Eric Gorman

AKA Ambassador Tukufu, man of letters, tomb raider and Master Sword Sage
. . . and Sir Szymon val'Holryn, Order of the Phoenix
Formerly Sir Jaeger val'Holryn. Weilder of the Holy Avenger: Thonanos. Gave his soul to help free King Noen


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Worn weapon questions
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2015 6:08 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:47 am
Posts: 2467
Location: Central Alberta
Body of the warrior gives you (or modifies) a natural weapon, not stack with existing natural or worn weapon.

_________________
Cody Bergman
Legends of Arcanis Campaign Staff
Initial Author Contact/Adventure Vetting

Haakon Marcus val'Virdan, Divine Holy Judge of Nier
Ruma val'Vasik, Martial Crusader and Master of the Spear
Jorma Osterman, Arcane Coryani Battlemage


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Worn weapon questions
PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2015 9:19 pm 

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 11:41 am
Posts: 486
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Southernskies had all 4 answers correct. You are either unarmed, or using gauntlets...no interchanging.

_________________
Matthew Flinn
Legends of Arcanis Campaign Staff
Rules Liaison

-general creator of mayhem and discord
-Exceptional quality PCI Minion and indentured servant
-Lord of the Hummingbirds


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ]  Moderators: james.zwiers, PCI Eric, PCI_StatMonkey

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net & kodeki