Last visit was: It is currently Sun Sep 15, 2019 9:27 pm


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 186 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 19  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Ask the Stat Monkey!
PostPosted: Mon Dec 16, 2013 7:46 pm 

Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 4:12 pm
Posts: 1036
Southernskies wrote:
Shield Slam is listed as a T.3 Weapon Trick for the Tower Shield, but is not listed as a weapon in the trick itself on pg.264


Pretty sure I brought this up on the old board and the official response was that tower shield is not supposed to be a weapon (buckler, small shield, and large shield are).

_________________
Steve Wilcoxon
Ss'kethis - Expert Holy Champion of the Fire Dragon 3.1
G'hyu'thyh Sungha - Martial Templar of Illiir 1.7
Eryk Bauer - Martial Awakened 1.2


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ask the Stat Monkey!
PostPosted: Mon Dec 16, 2013 8:02 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:47 am
Posts: 2467
Location: Central Alberta
This, alas, is made false in the Codex of Heroes, where the Provocator Primus Fighting style lists Shield Slam as one of the maneuvers you can do with a Tower Shield.

_________________
Cody Bergman
Legends of Arcanis Campaign Staff
Initial Author Contact/Adventure Vetting

Haakon Marcus val'Virdan, Divine Holy Judge of Nier
Ruma val'Vasik, Martial Crusader and Master of the Spear
Jorma Osterman, Arcane Coryani Battlemage


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ask the Stat Monkey!
PostPosted: Mon Dec 16, 2013 10:48 pm 

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:36 am
Posts: 1554
right thats a fighting style they intentionall "break" rules

_________________
--Josh Elliott
Oswald val'Inares V, The Seeker of the Val'Inares
Harvester Lord of the Eastern Fields of Iowa


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ask the Stat Monkey!
PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2013 2:44 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 10:23 am
Posts: 1026
Location: Miami Florida
SamhainIA wrote:
right thats a fighting style they intentionall "break" rules


Correct!

_________________
Pedro Barrenechea
Stat Monkey
Minor Deity of Typos

Paradigm Concepts
Miami, Florida


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ask the Stat Monkey!
PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2013 4:08 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:40 am
Posts: 2046
Welcome Pedro :) Could you maybe take a look at (and answer) some questions on Page 2 of this thread? Thank you :)

Summarizing:

1) When you combine Flowing Sand (martial maneuver) with another Base Maneuver, does it allow you to make a maneuver attack against each foe instead of a basic attack? If not, how does Flowing Sand combine with other base maneuvers?

If so, how does it combine with TWF maneuvers (like Spinning Strikes and Trap and Cut)

2) When someone is stunned such as through a use of Stunning Strike, how long is the target in that state and granting tactical advantage? Is it to the target's next action?

_________________
- John Bellando

Kelb'Bakari Masalio, Dark-kin Altherian Corsair, Gentleman Archaeologist, and Wandering Bard
"The highest compliment an Altherian can pay you is to shoot you with his flintlock. It means you were worth the expense."


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ask the Stat Monkey!
PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2013 10:25 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 7:06 am
Posts: 899
Not sure if it was noticed before, but there's an inconsistency in the FAQ/Errata 2.0

FAQ pg.2 Attribute die, "..Yes, ANY time you roll an Attribute die, they can explode."

Errata pg.11 Advanced Maneuver, "..that grants multiple attribute die, only one die may explode."

A:RPG pg.346 Advanced Spells, "..when combining two damaging spells only one of your primary casting Attribute die may explode."

Example Problem: Unbalancing Attack.
As a Base Maneuvre, the Prowess Die will explode (with your Might Die) on the next attack.
As an Advanced Maneuvre, it won't.

_________________
LARG; Astra Tonsoria Ursula val¤Dellanov, Martial Former Tribune, Centurion Sword Sage II, T3.1
LA:5E; Barbara Duran-Dellanov, Former Tribune, Fighter 4
LRC:OP; Seraphina "Flowerchild" Amakiir, Skill Hero


Top
Online Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ask the Stat Monkey!
PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2013 10:27 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:40 am
Posts: 2046
I think those were intended be the same Attribute Die, only one can explode. Since your (Primary) will always be the same.

John

_________________
- John Bellando

Kelb'Bakari Masalio, Dark-kin Altherian Corsair, Gentleman Archaeologist, and Wandering Bard
"The highest compliment an Altherian can pay you is to shoot you with his flintlock. It means you were worth the expense."


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ask the Stat Monkey!
PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2013 10:43 pm 

Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 9:12 pm
Posts: 609
Southernskies wrote:
Not sure if it was noticed before, but there's an inconsistency in the FAQ/Errata 2.0

FAQ pg.2 Attribute die, "..Yes, ANY time you roll an Attribute die, they can explode."

Errata pg.11 Advanced Maneuver, "..that grants multiple attribute die, only one die may explode."

A:RPG pg.346 Advanced Spells, "..when combining two damaging spells only one of your primary casting Attribute die may explode."

Example Problem: Unbalancing Attack.
As a Base Maneuvre, the Prowess Die will explode (with your Might Die) on the next attack.
As an Advanced Maneuvre, it won't.

The Advanced Maneuver and Spell rules override any time you roll an attribute die, they can explode rule. If a spell has multiple attribute dice and you explode on more than one, you pick one to start chaining up. Same for maneuvers.

In the case of Unbalancing attack the attack with the extra attribute from Unbalancing is restricted to only one die exploding.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ask the Stat Monkey!
PostPosted: Sat Dec 28, 2013 12:46 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 10:23 am
Posts: 1026
Location: Miami Florida
Harliquinn wrote:
Welcome Pedro :) Could you maybe take a look at (and answer) some questions on Page 2 of this thread? Thank you :)

Summarizing:

1) When you combine Flowing Sand (martial maneuver) with another Base Maneuver, does it allow you to make a maneuver attack against each foe instead of a basic attack? If not, how does Flowing Sand combine with other base maneuvers?


Yes & Yes.. you may make your maneuver attack against each target... for example in a playtest I had someone to Flowing Sand/Mighty Strike.

Harliquinn wrote:
If so, how does it combine with TWF maneuvers (like Spinning Strikes and Trap and Cut)


It would add an extra attack at the END of your flowing sand attacks, so the last target in line would get the off hand attack and suffer it's effects (if any)

Harliquinn wrote:
2) When someone is stunned such as through a use of Stunning Strike, how long is the target in that state and granting tactical advantage? Is it to the target's next action?


Yes, until the target's next action... in essence until they can recuperate from the attack.

_________________
Pedro Barrenechea
Stat Monkey
Minor Deity of Typos

Paradigm Concepts
Miami, Florida


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ask the Stat Monkey!
PostPosted: Sat Dec 28, 2013 12:49 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 10:23 am
Posts: 1026
Location: Miami Florida
Southernskies wrote:
Not sure if it was noticed before, but there's an inconsistency in the FAQ/Errata 2.0

FAQ pg.2 Attribute die, "..Yes, ANY time you roll an Attribute die, they can explode."

Errata pg.11 Advanced Maneuver, "..that grants multiple attribute die, only one die may explode."

A:RPG pg.346 Advanced Spells, "..when combining two damaging spells only one of your primary casting Attribute die may explode."

Example Problem: Unbalancing Attack.
As a Base Maneuvre, the Prowess Die will explode (with your Might Die) on the next attack.
As an Advanced Maneuvre, it won't.


It's not an error.... there is an advantage to using a base maneuver over creating an advanced one... and while an advanced maneuver can give you more effects the damage potential is cap'd to only one attribute die exploding.

_________________
Pedro Barrenechea
Stat Monkey
Minor Deity of Typos

Paradigm Concepts
Miami, Florida


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 186 posts ]  Moderators: james.zwiers, PCI Eric, PCI_StatMonkey Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 19  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net & kodeki