Last visit was: It is currently Wed May 23, 2018 11:18 pm


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 186 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 15, 16, 17, 18, 19  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Ask the Stat Monkey!
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 8:19 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:47 am
Posts: 2403
Location: Central Alberta
My read is that it ONLY applies to weapon speed. To me the fluff very clearly states that you are not really aiming after notching the arrow, which makes the WEAPON speed quicker. It does not seem to imply that the notching is noticeably faster (though it may be a bit quicker).

Also it should be said: Reloading is NOT an attack, and therefore by definition cannot have a Martial Technique or a Weapon Trick applied to it. As such, according to the rules you cannot apply a MT and WT to a non attack action unless it specifically says that you can.

_________________
Cody Bergman
Legends of Arcanis Campaign Staff
Initial Author Contact/Adventure Vetting

Haakon Marcus val'Virdan, Divine Holy Judge of Nier
Ruma val'Vasik, Martial Crusader and Master of the Spear
Jorma Osterman, Arcane Coryani Battlemage


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ask the Stat Monkey!
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 8:39 pm 

Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 4:12 pm
Posts: 1032
Nierite wrote:
Also it should be said: Reloading is NOT an attack, and therefore by definition cannot have a Martial Technique or a Weapon Trick applied to it. As such, according to the rules you cannot apply a MT and WT to a non attack action unless it specifically says that you can.


Sort of. Rapid Shot Technique from Codex of Heroes lets you reload for free as a 0(0) Base maneuver (so it could be combined with another Base Technique). Then again, I've never understood why Rapid Shot was a Technique instead of just a Talent (like the other reload-affecting Talents).

_________________
Steve Wilcoxon
Ss'kethis - Expert Holy Champion of the Fire Dragon 3.1
G'hyu'thyh Sungha - Martial Templar of Illiir 1.7
Eryk Bauer - Martial Awakened 1.2


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ask the Stat Monkey!
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 8:58 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:47 am
Posts: 2403
Location: Central Alberta
This is an example of a MT (or WT) that explicitly states that it does affect reloading.

_________________
Cody Bergman
Legends of Arcanis Campaign Staff
Initial Author Contact/Adventure Vetting

Haakon Marcus val'Virdan, Divine Holy Judge of Nier
Ruma val'Vasik, Martial Crusader and Master of the Spear
Jorma Osterman, Arcane Coryani Battlemage


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ask the Stat Monkey!
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 11:22 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 7:06 am
Posts: 851
Nierite wrote:
This is an example of a MT (or WT) that explicitly states that it does affect reloading.


Please clarify which Q the answer is in regards to.

_________________
LARG; Astra Tonsoria Ursula val¤Dellanov, Martial Former Tribune, Sword Sage II, T2.4
LA:5E; Barbara Duran-Dellanov, Former Tribune, Fighter 1
LRC:OP; Seraphina "Flowerchild" Amakiir, Skill Hero


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ask the Stat Monkey!
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 11:54 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:47 am
Posts: 2403
Location: Central Alberta
The last one isn't an answer, it was an affermation of Wilcoxon giving an example of a MT which explicitly states that it affects a non attack action. If the martial technique doesn't specify, then it only affects the attack.

_________________
Cody Bergman
Legends of Arcanis Campaign Staff
Initial Author Contact/Adventure Vetting

Haakon Marcus val'Virdan, Divine Holy Judge of Nier
Ruma val'Vasik, Martial Crusader and Master of the Spear
Jorma Osterman, Arcane Coryani Battlemage


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Ask the Stat Monkey! - Hands of Our Mother
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 1:04 am 

Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 11:23 pm
Posts: 4
Hands of Our Mother (Val'Dellenov Bloodline Talent) Seems to imply a benefit that isn't there. The first paragraph reads:

You gain Melee (Unarmed) as a Primary skill. If this
Talent is chosen during Hero creation, you may apply your
skill ranks to this skill as if you had acquired it through your
Archetype.

Why would the second sentence be a benefit? If you gain a rank in Melee (Unarmed) at the archetype stage, you can only add a single rank with skill points. If you gain a rank in Melee (Unarmed) at the talent stage, you can already have placed two ranks (for three skill points, assuming nothing else grants ranks) in the skill already with the talent adding a third rank.

Am I missing something? Maybe the talent modifies the archetype's skill list so that at character advancement, the +1 to archetype skills option has Melee (Unarmed) added to it. E.g., The arcane archetype option would be:

Gain 1 rank in Arcanum (any), Deceit, Stealth, and Melee (Unarmed)


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ask the Stat Monkey!
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 2:19 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 1:06 am
Posts: 1764
Location: Portland OR
If you are Expert or Arcane (and don't get melee skills at that step) then getting a skill rank at the archetype step through your bloodline can open up options. For example pugilist. Also makes it a lot easier to finish creation at 4 ranks in melee (unarmed). Also allows you to use your "any one skill" from race to also be used for melee (unarmed).

_________________
Eric Gorman

AKA Ambassador Tukufu, man of letters, tomb raider and Master Sword Sage
. . . and Sir Szymon val'Holryn, Order of the Phoenix
Formerly Sir Jaeger val'Holryn. Weilder of the Holy Avenger: Thonanos. Gave his soul to help free King Noen


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ask the Stat Monkey!
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 2:58 am 

Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 11:23 pm
Posts: 4
val Holryn wrote:
If you are Expert or Arcane (and don't get melee skills at that step) then getting a skill rank at the archetype step through your bloodline can open up options. For example pugilist. Also makes it a lot easier to finish creation at 4 ranks in melee (unarmed). Also allows you to use your "any one skill" from race to also be used for melee (unarmed).

I'm not sure there is much of an advantage there.

1. It only helps gain pugilist if you have no ranks in Melee (Unarmed) by the talent selection step of character creation; if you plan on using unarmed attacks you would at least put one rank in it at the skills step. HoOM as written actually stops you putting 2 ranks in it (if you accept the second sentence of HoOM), as archetype is the first mechanical choice you make.

2. The fact HoOM gives a rank makes it easier to get 4 ranks, gaining it in the archetype stage does nothing. A rank must be gained from Race, Background, and Skills steps to gain 4 ranks with the arcane or expert archetypes. There is no other way.

3. As far as I can tell, the "Choose any skill" racial option of the Val is not limited to skills you already know.

Also, the option of gaining 2 ranks at the skills step is removed if it counts as being gained in the archetype step, thus removing a method of starting with 3 ranks in Melee (Unarmed) if you choose to use the second sentence of HoOM, which as it says "may" is entirely optional, but apparently not useful.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ask the Stat Monkey!
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 4:04 am 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 7:06 am
Posts: 851
The wording is a little clunky as it wasn't cleaned up from the draft version.

It is a big deal during character creation.
Rank gain:
1. Archetype (retro through talent)
2. Race
3. Region (pirate isles only)
4. Background (various)
5. Skill points.

Choose any 4 options to get the points. It lets you take other things at one of the steps.

_________________
LARG; Astra Tonsoria Ursula val¤Dellanov, Martial Former Tribune, Sword Sage II, T2.4
LA:5E; Barbara Duran-Dellanov, Former Tribune, Fighter 1
LRC:OP; Seraphina "Flowerchild" Amakiir, Skill Hero


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ask the Stat Monkey!
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 12:34 pm 

Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 9:37 pm
Posts: 785
Location: Michigan
But can a martial or expert who took unarmed as a skill in the archetype step still get another point when they take this talent? Or do they not because they already have a point in that step?

_________________
AKA Kavaris, awakened "Human" from the Hinterlands, psionic transmutation specialist, adventurer, and no one important


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 186 posts ]  Moderators: james.zwiers, PCI Eric, PCI_StatMonkey Go to page Previous  1 ... 15, 16, 17, 18, 19  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net & kodeki