Last visit was: It is currently Fri Sep 20, 2019 7:55 pm


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 51 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Arcanis_FAQ_&_Eratta_v4.3!!!!!!!!
PostPosted: Tue Oct 20, 2015 9:28 pm 

Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 9:37 pm
Posts: 802
Location: Michigan
A master knowledge warden gains "Exploit Weakness, Skill Focus (choose one) or Monster Lore (choose one)" as talents, and then it says, "Special (Access): Monster Lore is no longer a limited talent for you."

But monster lore isn't ever a limited talent. Skill focus is though. Should the special be that skill focus is no longer a limited talent?

_________________
AKA Kavaris, awakened "Human" from the Hinterlands, psionic transmutation specialist, adventurer, and no one important


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Arcanis_FAQ_&_Eratta_v4.3!!!!!!!!
PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 2:02 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:01 am
Posts: 327
Been away from the boards for a while. Catching up on a few threads of interest and noticed a problem with the 4.3 FAQ document (underline for emphasis is mine)...
Page 10 of FAQ wrote:
Question: Is there a penalty for casting spells into
melee?
Answer: Yes, casting spells into melee that target
specific creatures and not an area incur a -4 penalty to the
caster's attack roll, regardless of the targeted defense. Ranged
spells are considered ranged attacks and are covered under
Cover rules on Page 305 (and clarified in errata below)

Then, on page 11...
Page 11 of FAQ wrote:
Question: In relation to Misdirect Fire Spell (CoH)
does a "Ranged Attack" also count ranged spells?
Answer: Yes as long as that spell attacks your
Avoidance.

I'm assuming that the second answer needs to be corrected based on my mental timeline of discussions. But I'll go with whatever indication official voices give.

Thanks,
Scott


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Arcanis_FAQ_&_Eratta_v4.3!!!!!!!!
PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 3:06 pm 

Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 4:12 pm
Posts: 1036
Maybe it's just me but I don't see an issue with those two entries as they stand.

The first is talking about the difficulty in hitting a target involved in melee (eg -4 to hit regardless of defense).

The second is talking about a spell that redirects attacks so it only applies against spells that have a physical something to redirect (eg those that target Avoidance).

I may be wrong but that's my reading.

_________________
Steve Wilcoxon
Ss'kethis - Expert Holy Champion of the Fire Dragon 3.1
G'hyu'thyh Sungha - Martial Templar of Illiir 1.7
Eryk Bauer - Martial Awakened 1.2


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Arcanis_FAQ_&_Eratta_v4.3!!!!!!!!
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2016 6:39 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 7:06 am
Posts: 900
As noted in Blessed Land discussion:
viewtopic.php?p=21405#p21405

The wording for [Stance] talents needs updating, as the ranged Fighting Styles can never be used under current rules.

_________________
LARG; Astra Tonsoria Ursula val¤Dellanov, Martial Former Tribune, Centurion Sword Sage II, T3.1
LA:5E; Barbara Duran-Dellanov, Former Tribune, Fighter 4
LRC:OP; Seraphina "Flowerchild" Amakiir, Skill Hero


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Arcanis_FAQ_&_Eratta_v4.3!!!!!!!!
PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 4:54 am 

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 11:55 pm
Posts: 290
Armor Proficiencies doubling up

Pardon if this was asked previously. I searched the Errata and Forums, but didn't find an answer.

If an Archtype provides you with a certain Armor Proficiency and then you take a Background that grants you the same Proficiency, what happens? Example. You gain AP: all your nation's Light Armors from your Archetype and then take a background that grants you AP: all your nation's Light armors, what occurs?

Another question. Same as above: Archtype grants you All your nation's Light armors, then take a background that grants you AP: ALL your nations Armors (light, Med, and Heavy), what occurs?


Many Thanks in advanced,

_________________
Talendos, the Shadow Raven
2.7 Expert, Soldier of Retribution, Assassin
"When you do something right, it's as if you didn't do it at all ..."

Echo
B-lister, Super Human, Brawler
"Bringing the noise!"


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Arcanis_FAQ_&_Eratta_v4.3!!!!!!!!
PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 1:03 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:47 am
Posts: 2467
Location: Central Alberta
You gain proficiency in additional armour equal to your Passive Logic, as per the talent.

_________________
Cody Bergman
Legends of Arcanis Campaign Staff
Initial Author Contact/Adventure Vetting

Haakon Marcus val'Virdan, Divine Holy Judge of Nier
Ruma val'Vasik, Martial Crusader and Master of the Spear
Jorma Osterman, Arcane Coryani Battlemage


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Arcanis_FAQ_&_Eratta_v4.3!!!!!!!!
PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 3:10 pm 

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 11:55 pm
Posts: 290
Next set of Q's -

Do talents that grant a permanent, conditional, boni to Defenses add to one's Stamina? Example: Masterful Defense states one gains +1 Avoidance. This bonus is lost if one wears any armor. Does this add to Stamina?

Manica (pg. 160 Cradle of Empires: The Blessed Lands) and Wall of Steel Technique (pg. 267 Main Rule book) - Wall of Steel states this move cannot be performed while wielding a shield. Manica is a worn item and (technically, also by the item's description) is not "wielded" in any hand. Can one perform Wall of Steel while donning a Manica?

_________________
Talendos, the Shadow Raven
2.7 Expert, Soldier of Retribution, Assassin
"When you do something right, it's as if you didn't do it at all ..."

Echo
B-lister, Super Human, Brawler
"Bringing the noise!"


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Arcanis_FAQ_&_Eratta_v4.3!!!!!!!!
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2016 11:30 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:40 am
Posts: 2046
EddieS wrote:
Armor Proficiencies doubling up

Pardon if this was asked previously. I searched the Errata and Forums, but didn't find an answer.

If an Archtype provides you with a certain Armor Proficiency and then you take a Background that grants you the same Proficiency, what happens? Example. You gain AP: all your nation's Light Armors from your Archetype and then take a background that grants you AP: all your nation's Light armors, what occurs?

Another question. Same as above: Archtype grants you All your nation's Light armors, then take a background that grants you AP: ALL your nations Armors (light, Med, and Heavy), what occurs?


Many Thanks in advanced,


You gain the next higher Armor Proficiency of the 'type' gained (Nation, named, etc). See page 124 under "Talents"

Quote:
Also any time a background grants Armor proficiency in a Armor category the character already possesses, they gain the next heaviest category (for example: If you already possess Armor Proficiency (Light, National) and a background grants you the same, you instead gain Armor Proficiency (Medium, National). Proficiencies granted in specific armors are not affected.

_________________
- John Bellando

Kelb'Bakari Masalio, Dark-kin Altherian Corsair, Gentleman Archaeologist, and Wandering Bard
"The highest compliment an Altherian can pay you is to shoot you with his flintlock. It means you were worth the expense."


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Arcanis_FAQ_&_Eratta_v4.3!!!!!!!!
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2016 5:03 pm 

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 11:55 pm
Posts: 290
Harliquinn wrote:
You gain the next higher Armor Proficiency of the 'type' gained (Nation, named, etc). See page 124 under "Talents"

Quote:
Also any time a background grants Armor proficiency in a Armor category the character already possesses, they gain the next heaviest category (for example: If you already possess Armor Proficiency (Light, National) and a background grants you the same, you instead gain Armor Proficiency (Medium, National). Proficiencies granted in specific armors are not affected.


Does this mean that you get AP: All your nations armor and then get AP: All your nations Light armor, you then gain an additional set of AP: Heavy armor = to your passive (Lo) or does it bump up to AP: All your nation's Shields?

_________________
Talendos, the Shadow Raven
2.7 Expert, Soldier of Retribution, Assassin
"When you do something right, it's as if you didn't do it at all ..."

Echo
B-lister, Super Human, Brawler
"Bringing the noise!"


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Arcanis_FAQ_&_Eratta_v4.3!!!!!!!!
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2016 11:56 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:40 am
Posts: 2046
If you get Armor Proficiency (Nation, Light) at archetype and then Armor Proficiency (Nation, Light) again with a background, you now have Armor Proficiency (Medium, Nation). If you somehow get Armor Profincy (Light, Nation) or Armor Profiency (Medium, Nation) again, you then get Armor Profiency (Heavy, Nation). Nowhere do you get Armor Proficiency (Shields, Nation or otherwise) from this.

John

_________________
- John Bellando

Kelb'Bakari Masalio, Dark-kin Altherian Corsair, Gentleman Archaeologist, and Wandering Bard
"The highest compliment an Altherian can pay you is to shoot you with his flintlock. It means you were worth the expense."


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 51 posts ]  Moderators: james.zwiers, PCI Eric, PCI_StatMonkey Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net & kodeki