Paradigm Concepts

Contingent Spell Ruling?
Page 1 of 1

Author:  dragonwarriorfan [ Tue Oct 08, 2013 8:59 pm ]
Post subject:  Contingent Spell Ruling?

What was the ruling on Contingent Spell? Any Tier I works? For example, could I use Shared Sacrifice (Heritage: Val)? If so, how does it work with the speed of Contingent, which is Sleep 2, versus the Push 5. I would assume if it works, it defaults to speed 2, Strain same (+2)?

aaaaaaand while I'm on it, did we decide any also can mean the advanced spells, such as Graveblight?


Author:  Nierite [ Tue Oct 08, 2013 10:55 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Contingent Spell Ruling?

From what I understood from one of Pedro's previous rulings, he intends Contingent spell to function for any spell an Elder Caster can cast, or at least Advanced and Basic spells (not sure about sustained, but I personally would doubt it). The speed is always reduced to 2 ticks, though strain remains unchanged.

Alas, in all your examples, the spells are not available to Elder Casters so the examples are somewhat moot. The only playable race which can get Elder Casting are the Elorii, so a Heritage Val spell is not accessible, and Elder Casters cannot get access to Graveblight spells.

Author:  PCIHenry [ Tue Oct 08, 2013 11:17 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Contingent Spell Ruling?

Hello Patrick,

Cody is correct.

My concept when I came up with the idea was to make each type of sorcery feel different from one another. Thus those that cast Elder magic have their brains wired in such a way that they can essentially prime a spell in their heads and then set it off with a trigger word. That's why the Speed is reduced to 2.

So, you must be able to cast an Elder spell (as Cody mentioned, an Elorii) and he is correct in assuming that it doesn't work on sustained spells as once the spell is cast, that priming is gone.

Hope that helps.

Author:  dragonwarriorfan [ Wed Oct 09, 2013 5:22 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Contingent Spell Ruling?

Thanks Cody and Henry - I think I have it, then. For example, I did not take Elemental Guardian (Elemental, Elder) as one of my base spells, but since it is Elder, I can set it as my Contingent, correct? Or does it need to be one of the ones I selected?

Also, as I read, it could be any Elder or Primal, so Black Tongue might work? Nasty that, as a Contingency. Scratch that - its a Hex, but what of other Primal spells . .

Author:  SamhainIA [ Wed Oct 09, 2013 9:30 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Contingent Spell Ruling?

"You may prepare any Tier I Base spell as a Contingent Spell."

it might be more exactly phrased as :

You may prepare any Tier one spell with a category of "Base" you can cast as a contingent spell

Base Spells, like Elemental Bolt, have a Category of "Base" , where Elemental Guardian, has a Category of "Binding" and sustained spells have a Category of "Sustained"

Author:  Nierite [ Wed Oct 09, 2013 10:12 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Contingent Spell Ruling?

Though it hasn't been written unto the rules or Errata, I remember Pedro posting that Advanced spells that were not sustained were also acceptable. He said that it was the intention for Elemental Guardian to be included as well.

Of course, until he posts as such in the new boards, the rules as written exclude it.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group