wisper wrote:
These are all from one of my players.
I have a few questions or needs for clarification that I came across while planning my character's progression that I did not remember seeing in the FAQ or errata:
1. In the Core rulebook, page 270, Martial Technique: Overpower. The entry says: Weapon: +10
Q. Is this on the attack, the damage or both?
Any modifier on
Weapon for a Technique is on the damage. If it says
None the maneuver does no damage.
wisper wrote:
2. Codex of Heroes, page 84, Talents, Path of the Scale, Tier IV: Thick Tail says: ...granting you an additional d(Mi) in damage any time you successfully use Tail Swipe.
Q. I thought the trip maneuver did not cause weapon damage, just the trip, or does tail swipe cause weapon (unarmed) damage where other weapons don't? If it just gives you damage onto the trip, then it shouldn't be worded as ADDITIONAL damage as there was no damage to ADD to and should read to the effect: granting a d(Mi) damage....
A normal trip does no damage. Thick Tail does damage equal to d(Mi). It probably says 'additional' so that if there are talents/fighting styles that add other damage to Trip, it is still valid. If it said only "granting a d(Mi) damage" it wouldn't stack.
wisper wrote:
3. Codex of heroes, page 109, New Martial Techniques, Pounce: Effect: Weapon; if you also successfully bypass your opponent’s Fortitude, your target is knocked prone.
Q. I'm assuming this is with the attack not the damage, but it doesn't specify....
All mentions of "If you also bypass your opponent's [Fortitude/Discipline] are talking about the attack roll.
wisper wrote:
4. Also from the same entry: and it may only be used against opponent’s one size category larger or smaller.
Q. So this maneuver cannot be used on an opponent of the same size category? Doesn't seem all that logical or useful if I can knock down an opponent larger than myself but not one my own size.
If you are Medium, one size category larger or smaller means anything up to and including "Large". It's an odd arrangement of words but it means "You can affect anything from tiny to one size category larger than you are."
wisper wrote:
5. Would the pugilist talent stack with natural claws or just allow character to do the d4 without claws?
Unarmed attacks are different from natural claws, though both use the Melee (Unarmed) skill for attacks. The talent doesn't stack with the claws, though you could use either one as you wanted (punch with unarmed or claw with claws).
wisper wrote:
6. Would Iron Fists talent also work with natural claws?
Same as #5, unarmed attacks are different from natural weapon attacks, so they won't stack.
John