Last visit was: It is currently Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:30 am


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 186 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 15, 16, 17, 18, 19
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Ask the Stat Monkey!
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 5:40 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 7:06 am
Posts: 797
No they wouldn't, as you can only get 1 skill point at each step.

Since both of those Archetypes have a fairly free choice of skills, they can take something else there.

_________________
LARG; Astra Tonsoria Ursula val¤Dellanov, Martial Former Tribune, Sword Sage II, T2.4
LA:5E; Barbara Duran-Dellanov, Former Tribune, Fighter 1
LRC:OP; Garrett "Hangman" Gibbson, Tech Hero


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ask the Stat Monkey!
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 10:35 pm 

Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 9:37 pm
Posts: 764
Location: Michigan
Southernskies wrote:
No they wouldn't, as you can only get 1 skill point at each step.

Since both of those Archetypes have a fairly free choice of skills, they can take something else there.


But it only says "may" not "must" or "does." Obviously if you take the talent after character creation even a martial or expert would get the extra point (since that clause only specifies "if this talent is chosen during hero creation..." so it seems wrong to penalize one for taking it during creation vs. other times.

Of course, the 4 skill point max would still apply during character creation, but I would think this skill point could be one of them as well as the one gained from archetype.

_________________
AKA Kavaris, awakened "Human" from the Hinterlands, psionic transmutation specialist, adventurer, and no one important


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ask the Stat Monkey!
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2017 12:50 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 1:06 am
Posts: 1716
Location: Portland OR
toodeep wrote:
Southernskies wrote:
No they wouldn't, as you can only get 1 skill point at each step.

Since both of those Archetypes have a fairly free choice of skills, they can take something else there.


But it only says "may" not "must" or "does." Obviously if you take the talent after character creation even a martial or expert would get the extra point (since that clause only specifies "if this talent is chosen during hero creation..." so it seems wrong to penalize one for taking it during creation vs. other times.

Of course, the 4 skill point max would still apply during character creation, but I would think this skill point could be one of them as well as the one gained from archetype.


Agreed. By taking the skill point earlier, it may help you get to 3/4 ranks. Or qualify for talents earlier. But you don't have to take the point at Archetype (for example if you already have one there).

_________________
Eric Gorman

AKA Ambassador Tukufu, man of letters, tomb raider and Master Sword Sage
. . . and Sir Szymon val'Holryn, Order of the Phoenix
Formerly Sir Jaeger val'Holryn. Weilder of the Holy Avenger: Thonanos. Gave his soul to help free King Noen


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ask the Stat Monkey!
PostPosted: Fri Jun 09, 2017 11:34 pm 

Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 9:12 pm
Posts: 609
Blessed Vitality needs to have [Tiered] added to it in the next errata.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ask the Stat Monkey!
PostPosted: Sat Jun 10, 2017 12:40 am 

Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 9:12 pm
Posts: 609
TWF errata reads as such.

Effects: The effects of both maneuvers are combined. Single target maneuver effects are applied to all targets when combined with a multiple target maneuver. If a multiple target Maneuver is combined with a Two-Weapon Fighting Maneuver, only the first attack applies to all targets.


I would like it to read as follows.

Effects: The effects of both maneuvers are combined. Single target maneuver effects are applied to all targets when combined with a multiple target maneuver. If a multiple target Maneuver is combined with a Two-Weapon Fighting Maneuver, only the first attack applies to all targets.
When creating an Advanced maneuver that uses Two-Weapon Fighting, you choose whether to apply the additional effects and/or targets to either the first or second attack, but not both.

It would be nice to apply additional effects to either Spinning Strikes or Trap & Cuts second attack. I do not feel this is over powering in anyway. No more than Mighty Swing + Powerful Thrust.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ask the Stat Monkey!
PostPosted: Sat Jun 10, 2017 1:10 am 

Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 9:12 pm
Posts: 609
I thought there was clarification for how to determine which maneuver or spell is slower by combining the speed and recovery/strain. Am I mistaken in this? As written you would just use the maneuver/spell with the slower speed.

Example Advanced Maneuver wrote:
A speed +2(0) maneuver plus a speed +1(4) maneuver.
Is the final speed +2(4) or +1(6)?


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 186 posts ]  Moderators: james.zwiers, PCI Eric, PCI_StatMonkey Go to page Previous  1 ... 15, 16, 17, 18, 19

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net & kodeki